Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I rated this a 4/5 only because I modified it. It's easy and delicious! I had never made chicken and dumpling before this... I added a cup of chopped carrots and extra celery. Omitted the Celery Seed, since I didn't have any. I also seasoned the chicken with a bit a salt and pepper and used the "Cream of Chicken with herbs." I also added some Italian Seasoning to the dumpling mix and a bit of garlic powder. It took me 1.5 hours to prepare and cook. I also served it over garlic mashed potatoes! So yummy, and my fiancé loves it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
Great recipe! I added peas and carrots to give it more flavor and color, also added italian seasoning. Cheddar cheese on top is a nice garnish too. Definitely make sure the biscuit batter is sticky wet--they come out moist and fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseymwelsh

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
Since my boyfriend has a cold, I decided to make this for us for dinner and no regrets at all. He thought it was very tasty. So do I. As others suggested, I doubled up the sauce mixture and added carrots and peas. Will keep this recipe for a time. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mena

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This recipe was a hit with my family. I used home-made chicken broth with no salt added, cooked shredded chicken (from making the broth), and I used whole wheat flour for the dumplings. I also used my pressure cooker which sped up the cook time dramatcially. Delicious! Thanks for sharing! I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beachmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Delicious! I didn't think I liked chicken and dumplings, but I ate 2 bowls of this! Everything just came out really well - it was easy enough to make, ingredients were things I had on hand. And the dumplings were not too thick or chewy. I did end up having to tweak it quite a bit to suite our family of 6. I originally doubled the broth/soup/milk mixture, but did not double the dumplings. I will double them both next time - the ratio just seemed off. I should've followed the recipe as stated! Also, added about a 1/3 cup finely chopped carrot, and only used about 1/4 cup finely chopped celery. Next time I'll omit the celery seed - my husband thought it was over-powering. But it was sooo good. We all loved it! A keeper, for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Elmore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Florida, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Loved this! I used thyme instead of celery seed because that's what I had on hand. I also added a diced carrot and some frozen peas. The tip of dipping the dumpling spoon into the broth to help it slide off worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
would have given 5 starts except that I made some changes. really good recipe. I precooked the chicken, seasoned with celery seed, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. I shredded this and put into the soup/broth mixture with the diced onion and celery. I also added some diced carrots and potatoes. I added some more garlic powder to the pot at this time. Over all a very good recipe, and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura W.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Danville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
I added a can of veg-all and only used 1/2 tsp of celery seend. Very easy to make & very delicious. My husband said to put it on the make again list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I loved it! I am a college student, and we take turns cooking for the 3 of us in the apartment. The dumplings came out huge, so next time I will probably halve that. I also doubled the cream of chicken soup and chicken broth. We used 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts. The ingredients says chicken breast halves, so I'm not sure if that's what I did or not, but nonetheless, everything came out proportional :) It also took me 1 and a half hours from start to finish, but that may be because I'm not pro :) Thanks, and I'm sure we'll be having it again soon! 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
This was awesome, perfect comfort food! I also added carrots and potatoes, and I doubled the broth. I also replaced the celery seed with dried thyme, which gave it a nice flavor. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States