Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
This recipe is hands down the best chicken and dumplings recipe on this site.. Ive tried down the list from highest to lowest and so far this one is going to be the keeper. I added extra chicken broth as suggested and it came out just right. not too much liquid, just right. I didnt have celery seed so i didnt add it but i did add carrotts and it was DELICIOUS!!! thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THREADandNEEDLEgal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
thank you this was very delicious just as is....although i did make sum changes to a second batch by doubling the broth recipe for more broth,and adding a lil garlic powder but thats it ...yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Steinke Reilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
We loved this recipe! I did as another reviewer suggested and boiled my chicken, in about 4 cups of water, added bouillon to the broth along with some garlic pepper, celery seed, salt/pepper and basil. I didn't have celery so I used carrots. I boiled the carrots and onions with the chicken. I added an extra can of cream of chicken soup. I made the dumplings small and they were perfect! Careful after you put the dumplings in, mine boiled out of the pot onto the stove. Quickly go back to simmer from the boiling point after adding the dumplings. This is worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
This recipe tasted very good and I will keep it. Thank you for a very tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I give this 5 stars and my family gives in 4 stars. We usually make our dumplings the rolled out way, with clear chicken broth made from several hours of cooking on the stove top. My husband grew up with these big fluffy type of dumplings. We still all like the rolled out version better but this is nice for a change. Much heavier than we are used to. Definitely double the broth as suggested by others and I actually 1.5x the dumplings and we still ran out for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sunset Hills, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very good. I did add about 32oz of chicken stock and threw in some carrots. Next time I'll be sure to double this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BREN1226

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I adore this recipe. I've made a few changes though. I add an extra can of cream of chicken, doubled up on the milk and add 1 and 1/2 cans of chicken broth. I also add poultry seasoning and 2 bay leaves while cooking chicken, carrots(I added those)celery. I eliminated onions. It just doesn't seem to fit this recipe. I changed nothing with the dumplings. I make this recipe all the time and give it to whoever wants it telling them that I found it here. Thank you Linda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanine Farrar Bubick

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Dumplings were great. They are actually a recipe that I have made several times. As far as the Chicken stew, this was very very bland. It made alot and is now just sitting in the fridge. Not sure I even want to eat it again. Maybe I can add a bunch of spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
We were not fans of this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
This recipe was amazing! My husband and I both loved it and it was easy to make. I made a few changes. I added an extra can of chicken broth, 2 cloves of garlic, and a carrot, which I cooked w/ the celery and onion. I boiled the chicken breasts in the broth for 15 minutes and then shredded the chicken and added it back into the soup right before I added the dumplings. We prefer the shredded chicken in a soup. I will definetely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 336) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States