Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Like other reviewers, I would suggest some modifications. I boiled boneless chicken tenderloins in water w/broth. Then I sauteed onion/garlic in oil and white wine. Add 1 cup of broth and spices (oregano, parsley, salt, pepper) and let simmer. Threw bite sized pieces of chicken, baby carrots & frozen peas into soup and added 3 cans of cream of chicken/celery/mushroom soup. Let simmer while I made my own Bisquick batter biscuits instead of premade. Great flavor & really comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We loved this recipe. I added carrots and peas, ( my family hates peas) but other than that the recipe stood. The only thing i would do differently is to divide the stew... so that i could put it in 2 pots and have twice as many dumplings!!!! I did cut every biscuit into about 8 peices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made mine with cream of chicken instead and I added a bag of birdseye frozen mixed veggies. This was easy and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a delicious recipe for chicken and dumplins* It's a lil different from my grandmothers, she never used carrots or celery, but you can't beat this recipe. A lovely dish* I've made it 3 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used pulled chicken breast that had cooked in the crock-pot for several hours. Since it also had some rib meat to help flavor it, I just used water to cook it, then added fresh thyme and rosemary for flavoring. As many others did, I added fresh veggies (carrots, peas, onions, garlic, & corn) to the sauce. I only had cream of chicken soup but that worked wonderfully. Instead of refrigerator biscuits, I just made a batch of biscuit dough with Bisquick and dropped it on top in little pieces. Cook 10 minutes with lid on, then 10 with lid off and VOILA! an easy-peasy, fairly nutritious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very easy to make. I had a lot of Bisquick to use up so I made the biscuits instead. I just dropped spoonfuls into the gravy to cook. I make this every couple of months and left overs are still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was such an easy base recipe. I did change it little. I used both skinless boneless breasts and thighs plus I made the dumplings from Bisquik. The whole family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Classic comfort dish. Great for cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Douglas Harris

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
I loved it. The taste was exactly what I was looking for. This will be my go to recipe!! The only thing I did different was add potatos and used chicken thighs instead...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cameo

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Simple to prepare, this was a hit with my family. I tweaked the recipe a little; I used a little cayenne pepper to give little kick. It turn out great, I will add this to my winter time meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ronda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nevada City, California, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States