Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So good!! To be fair I did use suggestions from other reviews. I seasoned the chicken with a little poultry seasoning, salt and pepper then browned in a little oil and butter with an onion before adding 2 cups of chicken broth. After the chicken was cooked I pulled it apart and added it back to the broth with 1 can each cream of celery, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I seasoned a bit of parsley and a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 15 more minutes before adding the biscuits. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great base. I add peas and carrots like many others have said. I made dumplings from scratch one time and noone in my fam liked it as much as using the canned bisquits! I agree to I prefer the bisquits. Super easy yet homemade tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Like other reviewers, I would suggest some modifications. I boiled boneless chicken tenderloins in water w/broth. Then I sauteed onion/garlic in oil and white wine. Add 1 cup of broth and spices (oregano, parsley, salt, pepper) and let simmer. Threw bite sized pieces of chicken, baby carrots & frozen peas into soup and added 3 cans of cream of chicken/celery/mushroom soup. Let simmer while I made my own Bisquick batter biscuits instead of premade. Great flavor & really comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We loved this recipe. I added carrots and peas, ( my family hates peas) but other than that the recipe stood. The only thing i would do differently is to divide the stew... so that i could put it in 2 pots and have twice as many dumplings!!!! I did cut every biscuit into about 8 peices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made mine with cream of chicken instead and I added a bag of birdseye frozen mixed veggies. This was easy and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a delicious recipe for chicken and dumplins* It's a lil different from my grandmothers, she never used carrots or celery, but you can't beat this recipe. A lovely dish* I've made it 3 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used pulled chicken breast that had cooked in the crock-pot for several hours. Since it also had some rib meat to help flavor it, I just used water to cook it, then added fresh thyme and rosemary for flavoring. As many others did, I added fresh veggies (carrots, peas, onions, garlic, & corn) to the sauce. I only had cream of chicken soup but that worked wonderfully. Instead of refrigerator biscuits, I just made a batch of biscuit dough with Bisquick and dropped it on top in little pieces. Cook 10 minutes with lid on, then 10 with lid off and VOILA! an easy-peasy, fairly nutritious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very easy to make. I had a lot of Bisquick to use up so I made the biscuits instead. I just dropped spoonfuls into the gravy to cook. I make this every couple of months and left overs are still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was such an easy base recipe. I did change it little. I used both skinless boneless breasts and thighs plus I made the dumplings from Bisquik. The whole family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Classic comfort dish. Great for cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States