Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was a good recipe, I just changed a few things. Since it was just my husband and I, I just did 2 chicken breast, 1 can of cream of chicken, 3/4 can chicken broth, 1/4 cup of water, pinch of black pepper and basel. For the dumplings I used 4 frozen biscuits from a bag, let thaw and added to the pot when it was time. Cooked for about 8 minutes. Ta da!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyRD
Home Town: Hamptonville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Really tasty! My family loved it. The only thing is I didn't drain any water. I just added a couple pieces of chicken bullion. I also cut a few carrots into tiny pieces so they would cook faster. Turned out great! Tasted even better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was really tasty. I used chicken broth and cream of chicken soup along with some sparkling wine I had left over. Everyone cleaned their plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I used this recipe as a base and ended up with an absolutely fabulous soup! I'd describe my end result as chicken pot pie in soup form (which is how I sold it to my English husband who initially turned his nose up at the idea of raw dough boiling in soup!). I covered 2 chicken breasts (about 1 lb) with 5 cups of water and 4 chicken bouillons. I boiled the chicken breasts for about 10 minutes so that they were JUST cooked, shredded them, and put them back in the pot with a half a bag of frozen peas and carrots. I added 2 cans cream of chicken soup, about 1 - 1.5 tsp. onion powder and garlic powder, black pepper, and half of the biscuits torn into bite size pieces. I boiled that for 5 minutes and then scooped out two bowls and the remaining dumplings for leftovers, then boiled the remaining dumplings. My husband (British) and I (Northerner with a Southern paternal family) absolutely loved it! I felt like the 5 cups of water was perfect because it produced more of a broth, but if you're looking for a creamy, thick texture, the 3 cups in the recipe is probably perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
GREAT MEAL! I am a relatively new cook, and this recipe was fast and easy. I only made one change: instead of packaged biscuit dough, I used the recipe on a box of Bisquick I had. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So good!! To be fair I did use suggestions from other reviews. I seasoned the chicken with a little poultry seasoning, salt and pepper then browned in a little oil and butter with an onion before adding 2 cups of chicken broth. After the chicken was cooked I pulled it apart and added it back to the broth with 1 can each cream of celery, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I seasoned a bit of parsley and a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 15 more minutes before adding the biscuits. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great base. I add peas and carrots like many others have said. I made dumplings from scratch one time and noone in my fam liked it as much as using the canned bisquits! I agree to I prefer the bisquits. Super easy yet homemade tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Like other reviewers, I would suggest some modifications. I boiled boneless chicken tenderloins in water w/broth. Then I sauteed onion/garlic in oil and white wine. Add 1 cup of broth and spices (oregano, parsley, salt, pepper) and let simmer. Threw bite sized pieces of chicken, baby carrots & frozen peas into soup and added 3 cans of cream of chicken/celery/mushroom soup. Let simmer while I made my own Bisquick batter biscuits instead of premade. Great flavor & really comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We loved this recipe. I added carrots and peas, ( my family hates peas) but other than that the recipe stood. The only thing i would do differently is to divide the stew... so that i could put it in 2 pots and have twice as many dumplings!!!! I did cut every biscuit into about 8 peices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made mine with cream of chicken instead and I added a bag of birdseye frozen mixed veggies. This was easy and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States