Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
im only 13 and i could make this all by my self so it was really easy. i made some revisions to the recipe though such as, i changed the soup to creme of chicken and i also added another can of it to make 3. i also added a can of chicken broth instead of the 3 cups of water but then it was very chickeney so i added 1/2 a can of water. but for the briskets i added a lot more than lot called for and rolled them into balls before dropping them in. i dont know if you will like my changes but my parents said it was really good:) -molly...if you like the revisions maybe you could add a review because i want to be a cook one day....thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1046 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2003
GREAT basic recipe! I modified it a bit (like everyone else) as follows: Sauteed 1/8 c chopped onion and 1 lg. garlic clove (chopped) in 1 TBL butter before adding chicken. I used chicken tenderloin and covered it with 2 cans chicken broth. Did not drain any broth when chicken was done. Added 1 c cream of chicken, 1 c cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery soup and 1/2 box frozen peas and carrots. I used two cans of Pillsbury buttermilk biscuits and after sprinkling about 1 TBL of Wondra (very fine) flour on a paper plate, cut them into a tic-tac-toe pattern. I dusted the dumplings with the flour on the plate and put 1/2 of them in the pot to cook (when it was boiling). They took about 15 minutes. After we had eaten all of the dumplings in the pot, I turned the heat back on, let it come to a boil again and cooked the remaining dumplings for the leftovers. Without the dumplings crowding into each other, they plumped nicely, didn't stick together and there were plenty for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
798 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
This is the first time that I have made chicken and dumplings because I never wanted to go to the trouble. This is a great recipe and the previous listed suggestions that I used were: using 1 cup of broth and 2 cups water to cover chicken, adding sliced carrots, chopped celery and onion, 2 smashed garlic cloves (which I later removed). I used Chardonnay wine (had some in the frig). I used one can of non-grand, non-flaky refrigerator biscuits - tearing off thumb sized pieces and flattening them slightly between my thumb and forefinger as I threw them into the pot. My husband loved it and for me it was a one dish meal with compliments - and no left overs. Can't get better than that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
285 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R. J. Nequette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
My husband asked me to make his favorite dish, chicken & dumplings...which in 17 years I had never made, I'm a yankee, and the whole idea of raw dough boiled in soup didn't appeal to me, but being a cool rainy day today, I decided to treat him...Thanks to this EXCELLENT recipe, I am now a total convert! :) I read more than half the reviews, and made these changes, used one can cream of chicken soup and one of cream of celery, used 1 1/2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts, used 5 cups of water with 5 cubes low-sodium chicken bouillion, added a teaspoon of tarragon and used the bisquick dumplings too...it was SO GOOD!!! My husband and 2 1/2 year old daughter both had 2 big bowls apiece! Thank you Melissa for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
192 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Yum! By the time I served this, the recipe listed here was a mere spec of what I ended up with, but it is a perfect foundation to do with whatever you want! Here's what I did, some of it per other reviews, and some of it on my own. I simmered the chicken in chicken broth mixed with water and chicken bullion cubes. To the broth I added parsley, cracked peppercorn, minced onion, four or five bay leaves and a pinch of garlic powder. I used a can of cream of celery soup and a can of cream of chicken soup. I added diced canned potatoes, fresh carrots and celery, fresh minced garlic, frozen peas a little more onion and more pepper. I made my own biscuits using biscuit mix and milk. To the dough I added basil, parsley and a pinch of pepper. IT WAS SO YUMMY that my 11-year old announced that she could eat it every day for the rest of her life!!! Hubby and other daughter loved it too! Definitely cook the biscuits longer...I cooked mine for 10 minutes with the lid and 10 minutes without the lid! You can't screw this up! Give it a try...I bet your gang will love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KTMAY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Russell, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
I made this and FOLLOWED THE RECIPE EXACTLY, so I could taste it then decide what I would want to do with it, if anything. AS IS THIS WAS EASY AND VERY YUMMY! My husband AND teenagers LOVED it! Since making it, I too have added carrots, more chicken, etc.. BUT THIS IS A GREAT AS IS RECIPE!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4everLuuvd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I made this recipe for my daughter and she loved it so much that it has become a staple in her house. She makes it at least once a week. I use 4 to 6 very large chicken thighs (skinless & boneless, simmered them in 1 waxed carton of chicken broth. I cut up carrots, celery & onion and a touch of garlic, then sprinked in pepper. When the carrots were almost done I added a can of cream of celery and cream of chicken soup and stirred it well to blend. Then I added the refrigerator biscuits. I tore them in half but my daughter simply put them on whole without tearing them into pieces. Then I put a lid on it and simmered it for at least a half hour. It was sooooooooooo good. Simple & easy. A winning recipe, thank you for sharing. We have this dish often because it's tasty and quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SNOWBIRD2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2002
Followed a lot of the suggested modifications and a few of my own. I'm sure it's good as the recipe is written, and definitely easy....but a few quick changes made it incredible to me! Instead of cooking the chicken in plain water, I added chicken broth, carrots, onions, celery, 2 cloves crushed garlic, and white wine. It smelled heavenly while it was cooking! I pulled out the crushed garlic, but used most of this cooking liquid, veggies and all--delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
A great recipe!! i've been trying to duplicate the chicken and dumplings that my mother used to make when i was little. i know this is not the recipe, but it's MUCH, MUCH easier than doing it all from scratch, and it's just as good!! i followed some of the reviews and cooked the chicken in chicken broth not water with onions and some garilc. i also didn't have cream of celery soup so i used cream of chicken and mushroom and made dumplings according to the Bisquick box beacuse i didn't have and biscuit dough...it all worked GREAT. my husband even had leftovers the same night i made this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
Quick, easy and yummy. It was also very simple. I tweaked the recipe a little and added a couple dashes of minced onions and used 3 good-sized chicken breasts instead of the called for thighs. Turned out great! Good job Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RogueOnion8

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 872) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States