Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This recipe is the BOMB! I have 4 boys- 3teens and a 2nd grader PLUS my hubby. I followed the recipe but had to quadruple the recipe. I cooked boneless breasts in broth, and added cut carrots (plus 2 shredded- I have to get veggies in them any way I can). I thought I would have left overs- BUT everyone ate 'till they almost burst. Quick, Easy and Tasty- Who can ask for more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lollylee69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Used chicken broth instead of soup. This is the BEST chicken dumpling soup! I can't stop thinking about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenAzz

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
First cool day of the year, and was in the mood for something warm and filling. This was it for sure. I added four cloves of garlic, pressed, and a bag of frozen peas and carrots. I used chicken broth to cook the thighs and used 1 can of cream of celery and 1 can of cream of chicken. I also threw in some dried herbs like sage, thyme and oregano. It is salty, so don't add salt! Make sure to have some bread to dip in the delicious broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EIRAMASIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
This is good for a "quick and dirty" version of chicken and dumplings. My variation includes breasts instead of thighs, one can cream of celery, one can cream of chicken, diced onion, celery, and carrots, salt and a couple dashes of white pepper. The family LOVES it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susieq101178

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Used canned chicken, added carrots and used homemade biscuit dough. Cooked dumpings for 10-12 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
My husband was skeptical cause of the veggies, but he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Extremely picky husband LOVED this. Followed suggestions for cooking chicken in broth. Sauteed and added celery, carrots, onions, garlic. One can crm of celery and one can crm of chicken. I didn't even get to try it because he ate the entire pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great easy recipe. I would skip simmering the chicken and just use a store bought roasted chicken and simmer the shredded chicken in 3cups chicken stock for 30mins. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and 2cans cream of celery and one can cream of chicken. It turned out great. I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I used milk to replace brother, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was a good base recipe, but I did more than a little tweaking. First, I sauteed about a cup and a half of finely diced celery and onion. I added sliced mushrooms halfway thru the sauteeing. Meanwhile, I boiled 4 large chicken breasts in 2 cans of chicken broth and a can of water (adjust to cover chicken). Once the veggies were completey sauteed, I added them to the chicken and broth continuing to boil. Then I diced some carrots and added them. Once the chicken was cooked thru I removed from pot, shredded and returned to pot. Then I added 2 cans of condensed cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Seasoned with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Lastly, I added the biscuit dough bits and cooked on med-low heat until the dough sank. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States