Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Delicious but I add celery, carrot, onion to it and three cups of the chicken broth w/ two chicken bouillon cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
My family loves this when I make it! I love the simplicity of it. Thank you for sharing this recipe. My husband particularly likes the flavor of the biscuits - gives just a touch of buttery sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Plant City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
I used the advice from Reviewed on Feb. 9, 2004 by STELLAR7:Sauteed 1/8 c chopped onion and 1 lg. garlic clove (chopped) in 1 TBL butter before adding chicken. I used chicken tenderloin and covered it with 2 cans chicken broth. Did not drain any broth when chicken was done. Added 1 can cream of chicken, 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery soup and 1/2 box frozen peas and carrots. Plus 2 canned chipotle peppers chopped. My entire family RAVED about this and I have 2 picky eaters. It was gone before I could make some for my husband's lunch :-) This was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This was a good recipe, I just changed a few things. Since it was just my husband and I, I just did 2 chicken breast, 1 can of cream of chicken, 3/4 can chicken broth, 1/4 cup of water, pinch of black pepper and basel. For the dumplings I used 4 frozen biscuits from a bag, let thaw and added to the pot when it was time. Cooked for about 8 minutes. Ta da!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChrissyRD
Home Town: Hamptonville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Really tasty! My family loved it. The only thing is I didn't drain any water. I just added a couple pieces of chicken bullion. I also cut a few carrots into tiny pieces so they would cook faster. Turned out great! Tasted even better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was really tasty. I used chicken broth and cream of chicken soup along with some sparkling wine I had left over. Everyone cleaned their plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryssa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
I used this recipe as a base and ended up with an absolutely fabulous soup! I'd describe my end result as chicken pot pie in soup form (which is how I sold it to my English husband who initially turned his nose up at the idea of raw dough boiling in soup!). I covered 2 chicken breasts (about 1 lb) with 5 cups of water and 4 chicken bouillons. I boiled the chicken breasts for about 10 minutes so that they were JUST cooked, shredded them, and put them back in the pot with a half a bag of frozen peas and carrots. I added 2 cans cream of chicken soup, about 1 - 1.5 tsp. onion powder and garlic powder, black pepper, and half of the biscuits torn into bite size pieces. I boiled that for 5 minutes and then scooped out two bowls and the remaining dumplings for leftovers, then boiled the remaining dumplings. My husband (British) and I (Northerner with a Southern paternal family) absolutely loved it! I felt like the 5 cups of water was perfect because it produced more of a broth, but if you're looking for a creamy, thick texture, the 3 cups in the recipe is probably perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
GREAT MEAL! I am a relatively new cook, and this recipe was fast and easy. I only made one change: instead of packaged biscuit dough, I used the recipe on a box of Bisquick I had. It was still wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So good!! To be fair I did use suggestions from other reviews. I seasoned the chicken with a little poultry seasoning, salt and pepper then browned in a little oil and butter with an onion before adding 2 cups of chicken broth. After the chicken was cooked I pulled it apart and added it back to the broth with 1 can each cream of celery, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I seasoned a bit of parsley and a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 15 more minutes before adding the biscuits. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great base. I add peas and carrots like many others have said. I made dumplings from scratch one time and noone in my fam liked it as much as using the canned bisquits! I agree to I prefer the bisquits. Super easy yet homemade tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 880) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States