Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
So good!! To be fair I did use suggestions from other reviews. I seasoned the chicken with a little poultry seasoning, salt and pepper then browned in a little oil and butter with an onion before adding 2 cups of chicken broth. After the chicken was cooked I pulled it apart and added it back to the broth with 1 can each cream of celery, cream of mushroom and cream of chicken. I seasoned a bit of parsley and a bay leaf and let it all simmer for about 15 more minutes before adding the biscuits. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Great base. I add peas and carrots like many others have said. I made dumplings from scratch one time and noone in my fam liked it as much as using the canned bisquits! I agree to I prefer the bisquits. Super easy yet homemade tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Like other reviewers, I would suggest some modifications. I boiled boneless chicken tenderloins in water w/broth. Then I sauteed onion/garlic in oil and white wine. Add 1 cup of broth and spices (oregano, parsley, salt, pepper) and let simmer. Threw bite sized pieces of chicken, baby carrots & frozen peas into soup and added 3 cans of cream of chicken/celery/mushroom soup. Let simmer while I made my own Bisquick batter biscuits instead of premade. Great flavor & really comfort food :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
We loved this recipe. I added carrots and peas, ( my family hates peas) but other than that the recipe stood. The only thing i would do differently is to divide the stew... so that i could put it in 2 pots and have twice as many dumplings!!!! I did cut every biscuit into about 8 peices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I made mine with cream of chicken instead and I added a bag of birdseye frozen mixed veggies. This was easy and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emzyjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Vermont, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
This is a delicious recipe for chicken and dumplins* It's a lil different from my grandmothers, she never used carrots or celery, but you can't beat this recipe. A lovely dish* I've made it 3 times now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuicyDevil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used pulled chicken breast that had cooked in the crock-pot for several hours. Since it also had some rib meat to help flavor it, I just used water to cook it, then added fresh thyme and rosemary for flavoring. As many others did, I added fresh veggies (carrots, peas, onions, garlic, & corn) to the sauce. I only had cream of chicken soup but that worked wonderfully. Instead of refrigerator biscuits, I just made a batch of biscuit dough with Bisquick and dropped it on top in little pieces. Cook 10 minutes with lid on, then 10 with lid off and VOILA! an easy-peasy, fairly nutritious dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April Berry Keating

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
Very easy to make. I had a lot of Bisquick to use up so I made the biscuits instead. I just dropped spoonfuls into the gravy to cook. I make this every couple of months and left overs are still very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Aliso Viejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
This was such an easy base recipe. I did change it little. I used both skinless boneless breasts and thighs plus I made the dumplings from Bisquik. The whole family loved it. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Classic comfort dish. Great for cooler weather.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairmont, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Mebane, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 862) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States