Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Like others, used it as a base and went from there. Added a few carrots, 2 celery stalks, some garlic and onion powder, can of cream of chicken and can of cream of mushroom, and did 2 cans of biscuits. Really turned out wonderful, everyone loved it. What a easy things to dress up or keep simple, one pot cleanup, and perfect cold weather comfort food! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, New York, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Really good! I suggest adding some frozen peas and carrots to make it a complete one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is almost 5 star worthy. We just thought it needed a healthier cut of chicken. I made a 3 serving version with 1 can of soup, 1.5 cups of water & 6 ounces of biscuits. I also added 1 carrot and 1 stalk of celery that I boiled for 17 mins seperately. VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Awesome just the way it is, although I added some extra corn I had on hand. Yum yum! Super easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Ok, made while I was sick and was good at first, did not like the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
Yowzers, this is good. And so easy. Some of the best cold weather comfort food ever. So glad I happened across this recipe. So easy to "own" this one, too. And following others' advice and tweaking is very worthwhile. We love one pot Dutch oven cooking. This is a keeper -- we've made it 3 times already since the beginning of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DanaLane
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Excellent! Like others I added carrots, celery, some garlic (while the chicken was boiling), and used cream of chicken soup instead of the cream of celery, but prepared the rest the same. Second time and my Southern grown husband loves it. Thanks, Melissa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DanaLane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I loved this, I diced 1/2 a medium sized white onion and 2 garlic cloves, cooked in oil until transparent then added sliced carrots, the chicken breasts (all I had-3 of them) and water to simmer for 15 minutes. I used the cream of celery just like it called for and could have made the dumplings bigger, I'd split each into about 6 pieces, but I think quarters would have worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
WONDERFUL! I have gone through several chicken and dumplings recipes in search of the best one and this is it! I made the following changes: added 2 cans of chicken broth when boiling chicken, used 8 chicken thighs, and used 2 cans of cream of chicken soup instead of cream of celery. My husband (whose favorite meal is chicken and dumplings) LOVED this. Thanks so much for posting this recipe!! I have been making it once a week since I found it 3 weeks ago and even my 3 year old daughter loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was a last minute thing for me my son came home sick and wanted chicken and dumplings so we raided the pantry to see if we could make this. I didn't have everything but with some adjustments we worked it out. I made some adjustments after reading the other reviews. I put 1C carrots thick sliced and 1C celery thick chopped and 1 onion chopped and sauteed them in butter and added them to the soup. I didn't have 2 cream of celery soups so I used 1 cream of chicken and 1 cream of celery and 1 chicken stock. I also used 2 12.5 oz cans of chunk chicken instead of the thighs. Turned out great though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 879) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States