Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables to mine. i would like to warn to be careful of the size of ur dumplings. mine were to big and did not cook all of the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was hoping for a more from-scratch recipe. not a fan of the creaminess and dumplings tasted too chemically. for a more homemade version, use a roasted chicken ($4 at the local grocer), remove all meat and set aside. cover the carcas and skins with water and simmer an hour for good brother. remove bones and skin and add more water or brother, garlic, onion and desired spices and veggies. when the veggies become almost tender, drop in your dough (2 cups all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/3 cup shortening blended with pastry cutter, add 1/2 cup milk and bring together) by spoonfuls into gently boiling soup. cover and let cook 8-10 minutes. OH YUM and worth every minute extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wonderful but I made some changes. I had leftovers from a store-bought roasted chicken so I cut that up for the chicken. I used 3 cups of chicken broth, two cans of low fat Cream of Chicken soup and one can of low fat Cream of Celery soup. I added a teaspoon of Herbs d' Provence to that. Added the chicken, 1 medium onion and frozen peas & carrots. I used a can of the large refrigerated biscuits and cut them into quarters. Cooked all of this for around 8 minutes. Absolutely delicious!!! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Soooooo good and easy! I followed other reviewers in replacing one cup of water with chicken broth, and used one can of cream of celery, one can of cream of potato, and added a can of corn and a can of peas. I also used white pepper instead of black - it was delicious and really filling! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Really great. I followed a lot of the reccomendations and used a cup of chicken broth to replace one of the 3 cups of chicken boiling water. I also used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery instead of two of the celery. I like my chicken and dumplings to be more like pot pie filling so I threw in a bag of mixed carrots and peas for added substance. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Perfect! It hit the spot, and this is my all-time favorite dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyscheff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I made this last night. It was delicious. It is salty, I will use the Cream of Celery low sodium next time. But I am a beginning cook and my husband loved it. It was very easy to make. The dough was hard to find so I used Pillsbury biscuits, but needed to add 10 minute more time to cook dough thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Bey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
My family loved this, and it was super, super easy. I served ours over rice cause I had leftover in the fridge. I think this could be made in a huge batch then frozen, then you can use it for the dumplings, or over rice or noodles. I also used 1 can celery and 1 can mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
As my husband said, "EXCELLENT!" What is really nice about this basic receipe, is that it can be modified to anyone's taste as so noted in the reviews with different soups, different vegtables, etc. I'm sure the next time I make this receipe it will not be the same as the first time. Basic, easy, and delicious, that's what every working busy mom/father likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
excellent i used to eat this at my aunts when i was little only thing i did different was use cream of mushroom,celery, and chicken. by the way my mom who never ate this before was like she only wants a lil because she thought it wasnt gonna be good but ended up eating two servings. lol A+++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 877) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States