Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I added carrots, onion and celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made some changes, like others did...I sauted one diced onion in some olive oil, added four sliced carrots and three stalks of celery. I used three sliced chicken breasts, boiled all in chicken broth (1 box), added one can of cream of celery and two cans of cream of chicken soup, one can of water and a clove of garlic. Pinched off pieces of bisquets and let cook for about twenty minutes and peppered to taste. Delicious!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe for my family and I must say everyone loved it. I never made chicken and dumplings before so I was worried about the outcome because it seemed too simple, but it turned out perfectly. I pretty much followed the directions, however I did take the advice of other raters and I boiled the thighs in chicken broth and added veggies. Even my 1 year old son enjoyed it and he can be a very picky eater at times. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
LOOOVE this! I used garlic seasoned chicken breasts and cream of mushroom soup and it came out wonderful. Next time I will add the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables to mine. i would like to warn to be careful of the size of ur dumplings. mine were to big and did not cook all of the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was hoping for a more from-scratch recipe. not a fan of the creaminess and dumplings tasted too chemically. for a more homemade version, use a roasted chicken ($4 at the local grocer), remove all meat and set aside. cover the carcas and skins with water and simmer an hour for good brother. remove bones and skin and add more water or brother, garlic, onion and desired spices and veggies. when the veggies become almost tender, drop in your dough (2 cups all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/3 cup shortening blended with pastry cutter, add 1/2 cup milk and bring together) by spoonfuls into gently boiling soup. cover and let cook 8-10 minutes. OH YUM and worth every minute extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
Wonderful but I made some changes. I had leftovers from a store-bought roasted chicken so I cut that up for the chicken. I used 3 cups of chicken broth, two cans of low fat Cream of Chicken soup and one can of low fat Cream of Celery soup. I added a teaspoon of Herbs d' Provence to that. Added the chicken, 1 medium onion and frozen peas & carrots. I used a can of the large refrigerated biscuits and cut them into quarters. Cooked all of this for around 8 minutes. Absolutely delicious!!! We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Kolbow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Soooooo good and easy! I followed other reviewers in replacing one cup of water with chicken broth, and used one can of cream of celery, one can of cream of potato, and added a can of corn and a can of peas. I also used white pepper instead of black - it was delicious and really filling! Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
Really great. I followed a lot of the reccomendations and used a cup of chicken broth to replace one of the 3 cups of chicken boiling water. I also used 1 can cream of mushroom and 1 can cream of celery instead of two of the celery. I like my chicken and dumplings to be more like pot pie filling so I threw in a bag of mixed carrots and peas for added substance. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Perfect! It hit the spot, and this is my all-time favorite dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tyscheff

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 871) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States