Chicken and Dumplings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Extremely picky husband LOVED this. Followed suggestions for cooking chicken in broth. Sauteed and added celery, carrots, onions, garlic. One can crm of celery and one can crm of chicken. I didn't even get to try it because he ate the entire pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
Great easy recipe. I would skip simmering the chicken and just use a store bought roasted chicken and simmer the shredded chicken in 3cups chicken stock for 30mins. I used a bag of frozen mixed veggies and 2cans cream of celery and one can cream of chicken. It turned out great. I cant wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I used milk to replace brother, it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This was a good base recipe, but I did more than a little tweaking. First, I sauteed about a cup and a half of finely diced celery and onion. I added sliced mushrooms halfway thru the sauteeing. Meanwhile, I boiled 4 large chicken breasts in 2 cans of chicken broth and a can of water (adjust to cover chicken). Once the veggies were completey sauteed, I added them to the chicken and broth continuing to boil. Then I diced some carrots and added them. Once the chicken was cooked thru I removed from pot, shredded and returned to pot. Then I added 2 cans of condensed cream of celery and 1 can of cream of mushroom. Seasoned with salt, pepper and poultry seasoning. Lastly, I added the biscuit dough bits and cooked on med-low heat until the dough sank. Hearty and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I added carrots, onion and celery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
I made some changes, like others did...I sauted one diced onion in some olive oil, added four sliced carrots and three stalks of celery. I used three sliced chicken breasts, boiled all in chicken broth (1 box), added one can of cream of celery and two cans of cream of chicken soup, one can of water and a clove of garlic. Pinched off pieces of bisquets and let cook for about twenty minutes and peppered to taste. Delicious!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I tried this recipe for my family and I must say everyone loved it. I never made chicken and dumplings before so I was worried about the outcome because it seemed too simple, but it turned out perfectly. I pretty much followed the directions, however I did take the advice of other raters and I boiled the thighs in chicken broth and added veggies. Even my 1 year old son enjoyed it and he can be a very picky eater at times. Thank you so much for the wonderful recipe:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shayna Pie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pontiac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Auburn Hills, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
LOOOVE this! I used garlic seasoned chicken breasts and cream of mushroom soup and it came out wonderful. Next time I will add the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
i added a bag of frozen mixed vegetables to mine. i would like to warn to be careful of the size of ur dumplings. mine were to big and did not cook all of the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
was hoping for a more from-scratch recipe. not a fan of the creaminess and dumplings tasted too chemically. for a more homemade version, use a roasted chicken ($4 at the local grocer), remove all meat and set aside. cover the carcas and skins with water and simmer an hour for good brother. remove bones and skin and add more water or brother, garlic, onion and desired spices and veggies. when the veggies become almost tender, drop in your dough (2 cups all-purpose flour, 2 teaspoons baking powder, 1 teaspoon salt, 1/3 cup shortening blended with pastry cutter, add 1/2 cup milk and bring together) by spoonfuls into gently boiling soup. cover and let cook 8-10 minutes. OH YUM and worth every minute extra!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wynter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 875) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States