Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I give this 3 out of 5 stars because the instructions are lacking for someone trying for the first time to make dumplings! Maybe someone who's done it before would know how long to cook them! The recipe doesn't specify.... I used the canned biscuit mix like another reader suggested and perhaps that was my mistake, but after letting them cook for about 5-7 minutes, we pulled them out and they were uncooked in the middle. Just doughy and gross. We threw everything back in and cooked it longer and then when we served it the dumplings had all but disappeared in the broth!! It was so disappointing. I really would like to try this recipe again some time, not using canned biscuit dough--Please let me know what to do after I add the dough!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Very good but takes lots of time to get everything ready. Make sure you use a good dumpling mix and make small dumplings, about 1/2 size of a cookie ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
All I have to say is...Yum! After reading the other reviews, I didn't put potatos in and I added a couple different spices like garlic, celery seed (didn't have celery) and parsley to give it a little color. For lack of having some of the ingredients I also added some frozen peas. Came out awesome...almost like a pot pie stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blackstone, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I cooked this for my friends and they have not stopped asking for it again since! It was a huge hit. I did substitute water for chicken broth for a little extra flavor. Wonderful dish! It makes great leftovers too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Wasley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: San Marcos, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Good base recipe... A few changes I made/would make in future: First of all, instead of using all water, I used half water and half chicken stock (the boxed kind). Next time I wouldn't use as much though, it turned out a little too soupy. Also, I knew it would have turned out pretty bland if I hadn't of thrown in some extra herbs and spices. I used: thyme, parsley, coriander, and a little extra seasoned salt - turned out wonderfully! As I said, this is a good base recipe to go off of, you just need to tweak it a little bit to suit your tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Do NOT add rice or potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Great base to start from. I have made this recipe a ton of times, but have altered the recipe to meet my family's tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SBATES26

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA
Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Very good. Someone else suggested using chicken broth, I did. I think it may have been a little bland without it. I did use additional water to finish covering the chiken. I wish I hadn't. Two large boxes of Swanson broth was plenty. Very good and easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by yolanda
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This was really good. I put 2 chicken bouillon cubes in the boiling water. I agree that it needs more salt, but other than that it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yolanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
this turned out very watery with bland flavor..it definitely needs to be tweaked. my family ate a little to be nice but obviously didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xx thinkpink xo
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States