Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
First I would like to ask, why do people change the recipe and then rate it? That is not fair to the person that submitted the recipe. Second I would like to say that to omit something simply because you have not heard of it being used in traditional recipes is silly. The tomato and bell pepper enhance the flavor but in no way overwhelm it. This is the best Chicken and Dumplings recipe I've found, I'll look no further. My husband also gave it a 5 star and I would say so did my 2 year old grand daughter since she gobbled it up!!! Thanks for such a wonderful winter time comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
The ultimate comfort food! The kids didn't like the green pepper(I did)-I would use green beans for them next time. I also deboned and added the chicken before adding the dumplings. Cover the pot after adding the dumpling and let simmer-the dumplings cook through and the broth gets thick.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
AWESOME! My family is addicted. Use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store for ease, so all you have to do is take the meat right off and toss it in the pot. Also, dumplings need more water. Here's a huge tip: when you are dropping the dumplings into the pot, use your fingers and just kind of plop them in one by one. If you use a fork/spoon/etc, the dough just kind of seems to come apart and the dumplings won't hold shape. Don't stir until the dumplings have firmed up or it will break all apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I thought it was pretty odd to have tomatoes and peppers in chcken and dumplings so I left them out. The seasonings for the broth are good though. I brought the chicken to a boil and skimmed off the foam and "stuff" that came to the top until it boiled clear before adding the vegetables. It makes sense to take the chicken off the bone and return it to the broth BEFORE you add the dumplings so I switched steps 2 and 3. The Bisquick box says 2 cups of baking mix and 2/3 cup of milk so I went with those proportions. It also says cook uncovered 10 minutes and then cover and cook 10 minutes more. I didn't want doughy dumplings so I cooked the full 20 minutes and they came out nice, though I imagine it depends on the size you make, I made 10 dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Very good 'un! I was a little surprised though, that the dumplings go in so soon? When I make it, I wait until the chicken is de-boned and back in the pot, then the last step is to drop in the dumplings (& cook 10 minutes covered, 8 to 10 more unconvered).. Still, your recipe had really great home-cookin' ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe. This recipe produced the best chicken stock I had ever tasted...My boyfriend had 4 helpings the first night. I made the following changes: added garlic and a cap full of Mrs. Dash for some extra flavor, omitted the tomatoes/green peppers, added frozen peas right before I put the dumplings in and I cooked the dumplings for 5 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
Poor instruction. No where does it indicate what to do with the can of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New London, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
A well-crafted recipe! I would remove and clean the whole chicken before dropping in the dough the next time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Good basic recipe. All the issues have been noted by other reviewers. As always I will adjust and make changes to my and our family's tastes! But definitely YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Turned out great, but the dumplings seemed too sweet and too fluffy. I was raised on the sticky/gummy kind of dumpling and I guess I have grown used to it. Definitely a keeper though - next time I will switch brands of buttermilk mix. It was a great suggestion to de-bone before adding the dumplings as it would have been difficult to do afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States