Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
AWESOME! My family is addicted. Use a rotisserie chicken from the grocery store for ease, so all you have to do is take the meat right off and toss it in the pot. Also, dumplings need more water. Here's a huge tip: when you are dropping the dumplings into the pot, use your fingers and just kind of plop them in one by one. If you use a fork/spoon/etc, the dough just kind of seems to come apart and the dumplings won't hold shape. Don't stir until the dumplings have firmed up or it will break all apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
Excellent, we have this at least twice a month during the winter months.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Clemens, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
My picky husband, who claims to have never had chicken and dumplings before, loved it. I did add some red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper for some heat. And I added cornstarch to thicken it. This was great for a cold day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
Great recipe! I was looking for something without milk/milk products in it due to an allergy in the family. I was able to substitute soy milk without a significant change in flavor. Also, I used jiffy pancake mix instead of buttermilk baking mix. I eliminated the green pepper, did a peas/carrots mix instead of just carrots. I followed the suggestion of deboning and cutting the chicken before adding the dumplings. This will go into our meal rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I only added more water;and made the dumplins 1/2 a tsp size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
Excellent recipe. This recipe produced the best chicken stock I had ever tasted...My boyfriend had 4 helpings the first night. I made the following changes: added garlic and a cap full of Mrs. Dash for some extra flavor, omitted the tomatoes/green peppers, added frozen peas right before I put the dumplings in and I cooked the dumplings for 5 minutes covered and 5 minutes uncovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
The perfect dish for a chilly night. This was really excellent, though very filling. I didn't change a thing, except to remove the chicken, debone, chop & return it to the pot before adding the dumplings, it's easier & then you won't disturb the dumplings on top of the soup. Never made them before so I was surprised to see how they puff up and fill the top of the soup. I also used a Tbsp to make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chibiharuka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
YUMMO! Not only was this recipe easy, but very good as well! I'm a true Southerner and this recipe is even better than my Mom's! I seasoned the water that I boiled my chicken in with onions, celery, thyme and salt/pepper. Then added the 1 can cream chicken and 1 can cream celery. Worked great and my kids gobbled it up! Will definately make this one alot this winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
Turned out excellent. I omitted the peppers and tomatoes. For the dumplings I just used Bisquick mix and followed the directions on the box ;) . My oldest can't stand Chicken and Dumplings, but even she had some and said it was "pretty good". I'll be saving this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nuremberg, Bayern, Germany
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
that was good. My husband and I couldn't stop eating. I didn't make the dumplings from the recipe as we don't get baking mix here in Bahrain. So I used another recipe from this same site. Even my kids wiped their plates cleaned. Shall be using this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKIG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States