Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great recipe! All I did was triple the water and add more veggies (green beans, yellow & red pepper, broccoli) to up the nutrition factor and it turned out so well! Even my most critical friend loved it and took leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
mmm I made this for the second time today and I love the peppers and tomatos in it. The sage is perfect to season it. I had to use a difffrent dumpling recipie because I didn't have a biscut mix. This is a delicious recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I followed the recipe as written but the result came out way too salty and did not include enough broth/liquid. My chicken was half the size and there was barely enough liquid to cover the contents in the pot. The water should easily be doubled, and even tripled, from the current 3 cups. With adding more water, I would add maybe 1 or 2 more bouillon cubes but no more than that. I am willing to try this recipe again because I love the herbs it calls for. It has potential. (Note: I did not include the dumplings, so my rating is based solely on the stew part.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madame.D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Good but too salty. That could be me thinking I needed to add the condensed chicken broth at the end. Regular broth or low sodium broth would have been good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNHARJE

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
Delicious. Omitted the carrots since I didn't have any on hand, but otherwise made as written. The entire family enjoyed this. We'll make again as a way to use leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACLEOD26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mifflintown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2009
Excellent recipe! I omitted the green pepper and tomato but otherwise followed the recipe as written. Probably the best chicken and dumplings I've ever made. We ate until we were stuffed! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Ok I simplified this to fit my tastes.. First i ommitted the green peppers and tomatoes, just doesn't fit for me. I used 5 cups of broth/water & boullion so that it had a bit more gravy. I deboned my chicken and added it to the broth before dropping the dumplings. Also, to make the gravy a bit thicker I added a heaping tablespoon or so of the bisquick mix and just mixed with some water and threw it in to thicken up the sauce. I just used tried and true bisquick for my dumplings, 2 1/4 C mix and 2/3 cup of milk and spoon drop them into the broth. This is my go to recipe with the small changes I made....this is the real deal. I can't believe people on this site love the slow cooker version of chicken and dumplings so much. To me the taste of that is bland and the dumplings are slimy and doughy. This is the homemade style I grew up on and worth the time. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
Great flavor! Delicious! I made a few changes to the dumplings. I forgot to add the pepper to the dumplings and I left out the parsley because my husband is not a fan. I also cooked the dumplings a little longer than the 5 minutes. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
i followed this recipe exactly, except I substituted 4 large chicken breasts (2 whole) instead of a whole chicken. This is a delicious recipe. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
This is very good! I usually only add the vegatables that I have around the house, but the spices are just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States