Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
The dumplings didnt form/stick quite like I thought that would but it didn't matter. It ended up thickening the soup very nicely and the flavor is amazing. One of the best chicken and dumplings I've ever eaten. Will certainly make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I only used the first 12 ingredients of this recipe for making my chicken in the slow cooker. This chicken had great flavor and I will definitely use it again! Then used the recipe for Herbed Dumplings from this site since I didn't have baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
It came out more like chicken soup. I prefer a creamier chicken and dumplings. I used a can of cream of chicken instead of the chicken base. Also the ingredient list the chicken stock butnot in the directions. Also the dumplings came out tasteless but I am sure it was my fault. I will look elsewhere for another recipe however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbanzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've made this numerous times. I do add more veggies (onions, celery, carrots & potatoes) and extra chicken stock. I never add the tomatoes or the peppers, so I cannot say it is better without them, but to me they seem like they do not belong in this soup. Otherwise I make it as is, other than sometimes adding peas. This is perfect cold weather soup, and makes a big pot that I eat for lunch for days. I never get tired of it! I do use a store bought rotisserie chicken to make my life easier and it makes this soup a snap to make. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have tried many chicken & dumpling recipes and this is the BEST I have ever tasted. I was very sick with some stupid virus, picked up the ingredients, and SICK made this recipe as my grandmother always said, "Nothing makes you feel better like a hot bowl of chicken noodle soup." Yes, I did add frozen egg noodles and substituted buttermilk for milk in dumplings (I bought the wrong darn mix). I made it to work the next day feeling 100 percent better and took leftovers for lunch...everyone in office just "drooled" as the smell wafted through the office! Now I have to bring a big pot to work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakotabc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Absolutely WONDERFUL. I didnt change a thing except that I used season salt instead of table salt. I have always made homemade ckn and dumplings but was looking for something different for a change. I will definitely keep this in my rotation. I dont eat bell peppers but I use them to cook with for the flavor quite often.. I think that was the best part of the recipe! GREAT FOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Good basic recipe. All the issues have been noted by other reviewers. As always I will adjust and make changes to my and our family's tastes! But definitely YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. Something the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I did as the others and removed the chicken before adding the dumplings. My dumplings did not turn out at all. I followed the recipe and ended up with a pancake like consistency, so I added more biscuit mix. Then after cooking the dumplings they never cooked. They stayed really flour-y and gooey. I tried cooking htem longer and they dissappeared into the broth. I am used to Chicken and Dumplings made with refrigerated Biscuits- so maybe that is why. But I tried Chkn and Dumplings at Cracker Barrel and wanted to try them. I won't be making this recipe again, but I might try another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My only complaint about this recipe is the instructions didn't tell you when to add the condensed chicken broth. I assumed you added it in the beginning. The dumplings turned out a little gooey like pancake batter. I added a little more flour and dropped spoonfuls into the pot instead of forming into balls. The flavors were great though. I think next time I will add more water and more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States