Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I only used the first 12 ingredients of this recipe for making my chicken in the slow cooker. This chicken had great flavor and I will definitely use it again! Then used the recipe for Herbed Dumplings from this site since I didn't have baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMCookinNow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
It came out more like chicken soup. I prefer a creamier chicken and dumplings. I used a can of cream of chicken instead of the chicken base. Also the ingredient list the chicken stock butnot in the directions. Also the dumplings came out tasteless but I am sure it was my fault. I will look elsewhere for another recipe however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jbanzer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
I've made this numerous times. I do add more veggies (onions, celery, carrots & potatoes) and extra chicken stock. I never add the tomatoes or the peppers, so I cannot say it is better without them, but to me they seem like they do not belong in this soup. Otherwise I make it as is, other than sometimes adding peas. This is perfect cold weather soup, and makes a big pot that I eat for lunch for days. I never get tired of it! I do use a store bought rotisserie chicken to make my life easier and it makes this soup a snap to make. Very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bubba's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have tried many chicken & dumpling recipes and this is the BEST I have ever tasted. I was very sick with some stupid virus, picked up the ingredients, and SICK made this recipe as my grandmother always said, "Nothing makes you feel better like a hot bowl of chicken noodle soup." Yes, I did add frozen egg noodles and substituted buttermilk for milk in dumplings (I bought the wrong darn mix). I made it to work the next day feeling 100 percent better and took leftovers for lunch...everyone in office just "drooled" as the smell wafted through the office! Now I have to bring a big pot to work...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lakotabc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Absolutely WONDERFUL. I didnt change a thing except that I used season salt instead of table salt. I have always made homemade ckn and dumplings but was looking for something different for a change. I will definitely keep this in my rotation. I dont eat bell peppers but I use them to cook with for the flavor quite often.. I think that was the best part of the recipe! GREAT FOOD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Good basic recipe. All the issues have been noted by other reviewers. As always I will adjust and make changes to my and our family's tastes! But definitely YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Granite City, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Love this recipe. Something the whole family can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I did as the others and removed the chicken before adding the dumplings. My dumplings did not turn out at all. I followed the recipe and ended up with a pancake like consistency, so I added more biscuit mix. Then after cooking the dumplings they never cooked. They stayed really flour-y and gooey. I tried cooking htem longer and they dissappeared into the broth. I am used to Chicken and Dumplings made with refrigerated Biscuits- so maybe that is why. But I tried Chkn and Dumplings at Cracker Barrel and wanted to try them. I won't be making this recipe again, but I might try another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Way, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
My only complaint about this recipe is the instructions didn't tell you when to add the condensed chicken broth. I assumed you added it in the beginning. The dumplings turned out a little gooey like pancake batter. I added a little more flour and dropped spoonfuls into the pot instead of forming into balls. The flavors were great though. I think next time I will add more water and more pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Great recipe! All I did was triple the water and add more veggies (green beans, yellow & red pepper, broccoli) to up the nutrition factor and it turned out so well! Even my most critical friend loved it and took leftovers home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States