Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Just like my mom used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
OK, I made a few changes. Instead of chicken, I used sausage and ground beef. I swapped a tomato sauce for the chicken broth. And I switched up the dumplings for pasta. Idk why they called this chicken and dumplings when it tasted a lot like speghetti!! OK, jokes over. I get tired of people changing the recipe then rating it. LOL This is a great comfort food recipe. Change nothing, it's a delight as it is. Michelle does it absolutely right. :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SousSusieQ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I thought this recipe was excellent. The chicken was perfectly cooked and made some delicious broth. I found using 3 cups of water to make stock not enough. Perhaps the can of broth that one reviewer mentioned no directions for could be added to the pot while the chicken cooks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
Very good, and yes, very hearty! I was full halfway through the meal! I let mine simmer pretty much all day on low and the carrots made the broth kind of orange . . .no matter, was very tasty! I didn't have peppers or I would've tossed them in. The directions really don't say when to put the chicken broth in . . .I just added it with the veggies, as there wasn't enough liquid in the soup otherwise. I also just made my own baking mix out of flour and baking soda. I ran out of parsley, otherwise it definitely wouldve been in the dumplings . . .I love parsley in stuff! Very hearty, makes a ton, and it is a great comfor meal when I'm not feeling so great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
There wasn't too much flavor and the dumplings were doughy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
My first chicken and dumpling attempt. I used this recipe for the dumplings. The recipe called for too much milk. I could not roll my dumplings into balls because the mixture was too liquid, so I had to add more flour and biscuit mix. I was unsuccessful in making actual dumpling balls, but even though they were very mis-shaped, they turned out really good. I will be using this recipe again. I also went with the rotisserie chicken to make it easier. Yes, I'm lazy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I used this recipe as a base recipe. I dont think personally that tomatoes and green peppers belong in a chicken and dumplings meal, so did not add them. I added a few more herbs as personal choice and it was really good, I find it easier however to cook the chicken first without any other ingrediant, then shred it, and put in the veg/herbs/ and anything else you want back into the liquid. I like a thicker base so did use flour to thicken it up a bit. I also used my own dumplings mix. For those having a problem with the dumpling going gooey or liquidy, make sure the fluid is piping hot! Cover the dumplings and try cooking for 15 mins, do not remove the lid or they will go flat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdnshaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
SO good. Best chicken and dumplings recipe I've tried!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
I absolutely prefer light & fluffy dumplings! I'd lost my buttermilk dumpling recipe and was so happy to find this recipe. Even lighter would be using White Lily self-rising flour with real buttermilk - but these are light enough! I'm not a gummy, sticky dumpling fan - those things are lead in the belly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
The soup itself was delicious but the dumplings were impossible. I followed the recipe exactly and all I ended up with was goop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnlenderman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Round Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: Perry, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States