Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2000
Very good 'un! I was a little surprised though, that the dumplings go in so soon? When I make it, I wait until the chicken is de-boned and back in the pot, then the last step is to drop in the dumplings (& cook 10 minutes covered, 8 to 10 more unconvered).. Still, your recipe had really great home-cookin' ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpotato
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
The only problem that I had with this recipe is that it does not mention when to add the chicken broth! Very delicious! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
Iadded the deboned chicken before the buttermilk baking mix was dropped into the simmering soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
This recipe is wonderful!! Everyone in my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I made a few substitutions and it turned out great! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
The ultimate comfort food! The kids didn't like the green pepper(I did)-I would use green beans for them next time. I also deboned and added the chicken before adding the dumplings. Cover the pot after adding the dumpling and let simmer-the dumplings cook through and the broth gets thick.Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Turned out great, but the dumplings seemed too sweet and too fluffy. I was raised on the sticky/gummy kind of dumpling and I guess I have grown used to it. Definitely a keeper though - next time I will switch brands of buttermilk mix. It was a great suggestion to de-bone before adding the dumplings as it would have been difficult to do afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2002
Very good down-home cooking. I make this on chilly nights or when someone isn't feeling great. Just the smell that comes out of that pot is enough to make you feel 100% better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Mmmmm, this recipe was SO TASTY, and it really hit the spot when I was sick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have always had a hard time making drop dumplings...but these turned out good...even in my slowcooker pot. Would also work well as a baked topping for a version of chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONHAREHAYASHI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartly, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eden, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States