Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This was a terrific recipe. I didn't know when to add the chicken broth so it was added with the water in the beginning. I used red pepper instead of green. The chicken turned out so moist. I followed others advise and removed the chicken, deboned and chopped it, then added it back to the broth before making dumplings. I also thickened the broth with a roux to make it less soupy. I couldn't find any standard buttermilk mix and thought pancake mix might not work so well. I did find a wheat buttermilk mix made by Red Mill. The dumplings turned out fabulous. 5 minutes is not enough time though. I simmered them over med heat covered for 5 minutes then I removed the cover and continued simmering them for another 5 minutes. My family loved this recipe. I would add the vegetables the last 1/2 hour of cooking the chicken next time. They were very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Jordan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2004
Tasted great but lacking liquid. I tried it again with twice the liquid and it came out much better. I also used biscuit dough from scratch instead of baking mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
My family loved this recipe. Wish I had read the reviews before making it. I could have saved myself some time/work. I, too, will take off all meat from chicken first before adding dumplings. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
This recipe looks great when it is done. I made it without tomato and green pepper. I also changed the order of things and took out the chicken, made the dumplings, and put back the chicken pieces. This recipe cured my cold but it wasn't flavorful enough for what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2003
This was a delicious recipe. I made a few adjustments though. To make things easier, I used 4 boneless chicken breasts rather than a whole chicken. I also added half and half to the broth to thicken it up and give it a creamy texture. All of the spices I kept the same and I used 2 bunches of green onions in place of the onion. For the dumplings, I used Bisquick instant mix and they couldn't have been easier and tastier. My husband loved this and we have leftovers too =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2003
A well-crafted recipe! I would remove and clean the whole chicken before dropping in the dough the next time I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
I have always had a hard time making drop dumplings...but these turned out good...even in my slowcooker pot. Would also work well as a baked topping for a version of chicken pot pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONHAREHAYASHI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartly, Delaware, USA
Living In: Eden, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
this was very good and easy to make (even though it does take a lot of prep and time). i used a food processor to chop the veggies, which helped, and i added the can of chicken broth in the very beginning (with water & bouillon). it could have been more savory, though. i'd like to play around with the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2002
Good but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
Mmmmm, this recipe was SO TASTY, and it really hit the spot when I was sick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States