Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
I thought it was pretty odd to have tomatoes and peppers in chcken and dumplings so I left them out. The seasonings for the broth are good though. I brought the chicken to a boil and skimmed off the foam and "stuff" that came to the top until it boiled clear before adding the vegetables. It makes sense to take the chicken off the bone and return it to the broth BEFORE you add the dumplings so I switched steps 2 and 3. The Bisquick box says 2 cups of baking mix and 2/3 cup of milk so I went with those proportions. It also says cook uncovered 10 minutes and then cover and cook 10 minutes more. I didn't want doughy dumplings so I cooked the full 20 minutes and they came out nice, though I imagine it depends on the size you make, I made 10 dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2005
If there were more stars this one would get them!!! I have made this for my family many times and EVERYone loves it. I cook the chicken, seasoning, veggies and the broth over night in the crock pot and then put the rest together the next day for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I LOVED THIS RECIPE and so did my entire family, including my picky 3-yr-old. Although, I didn't include the tomatoes and peppers - I have made it several times. The only sad part; hardly any leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CANADIAN EH

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
My family loved this, the only complaint was not enough dumplings. I used a 6lb. chicken so increased the liquid by a few cups, but still was very tasty. I also removed the chicken before adding dumplings. I also only added half the vegetables while cooking the chicken and added the rest after removing chicken and reheated to a nice simmer to add the dumplings. Will definitely make this again soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brillion, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2005
When the temperature is in the single digits, there's nothing more comforting and satisfying than this nice thick soup. I sauteed my vegies and then sprinkled some flour into the mixture before adding it to the soup, which helped to thicken. I eliminated the green peppers and the tomatoes and just used Bisquick to make my dumplings. This was wonderful Michelle and we thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2005
First of all, putting the raw chicken, broth and all seasonings in to begin with was not a good idea. I had to strain the broth and re add all the seasonings except the salt. dumplings? don't know what altitude this recipe is meant for, but 2 cups of baking mix (buttermilk baking mix? biggest store in my city doesn't have that), 1 cup milk, 1/8 tsp parsley? I used a nice amount to make it worth while adding. whatever, except for using all purpose baking mix and more parsley I followed the recipe and had consistency of pancake mix. how you supposed to roll pancake mix into balls? dumplings never developed. This recipe was a huge loser. even with re adding seasonings, it was bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dubuque, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
It smelled great while cooking. I made it for a large gathering and got many comments on how good it was. I did omit the peppers, but I don't think they were missed. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
This recipe was the greatest!! I was not able to find buttermilk baking mix in my grocery store so I used regular baking mix and buttermilk instead of milk. Turned out great! Thanks J.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Very Good!! Easy to follow recipe...I added a little more water and chicken broth. More salt and pepper too. Thanks for this recipe...highly recommended. Kids will eat...always a good thing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2004
Like the others, I switched the #2 and #3 on the directions, and I added some Crazy Janes Salt after serving. Boyfriend had 3 helpings and wanted more but was so full. Easy and tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States