Chicken and Dumplings II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2008
This soup turned out fabulous. Most likely the best dish that I have ever made. I added a few extra cups of water and that was the only change, amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I gave this a four star because it needs some modifications. Much easier to use boneless skinless chicken breasts, simmer in 1 inch water until done. Or cook the whole chicken seperately and add the meat, rather than trying to debone the meat after the whole thing is made. Needs more water broth also. Mine became very dry. Used 4 chicken bouillion cubes and 5 cups water and was still too dry. Didn't use can of broth however. Made without the tomatoes and pepper and instead added frozen peas, personal preference. The dumplings were absolutely delicious though. Very very very satisfying. Don't think the left overs will last very long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sbruins79

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
This was excellent! I used four thighs and did not use tomatoes or bell pepper. Added frozen peas at the end. YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
Made it according to directions and it was fabulous.Was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
AWESOME! In the past, my husband has complained that the chicken & dumplings were bland, but these were very flavorful! I followed the recipe exactly but to save time, I used canned bisquit dough. I will make this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Forney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
fabulous. Only change I made was I made rolled out dumplings...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Fantastic! Other than reversing the order of steps - I took out the chicken and separated the meat from the bones before I added the dumplings - it was wonderful. Terrific comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
This is a great recipe! We loved it! Thank you so much for sharing this. I am always heavy handed with spices and so I increased those quite a bit and next time will cook in a pot with a wider opening to accomodate more dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
Very tasty and hearty dish. The seasoning amount in the recipe seemed very low so I incresed the thyme and rub, I imagine it might have been a little bland otherwise. I wasn't too crazy about the green peppers, I'll make it again with peas instead. Like others noted I removed the chicken and cut up, returned to pot before dropping in the dumplings. It would have been incredibly messy to try to do it after. Next time I'll reduce the amount of time to cook the veggies too, they were a little mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2008
Very good. May be a little heavy on the celery. Will try again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Punxsutawney, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make classic, comforting chicken and dumplings.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Slick Dumplings

Discover how to make Southern-style slick dumplings in comforting chicken soup.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States