Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This "chowder" was more like "soup" to me. It left a lot to be desired. It was missing something, including color. For this amount of chowder, the recipe didn't include enough enough onions, garlic, and chicken or cheese, and I even doubled the onions and cheese. I ended up tripling the chicken, and putting about 5 cups of extra sharp Tillamook cheese in it, as well as adding all of the crumbled bacon to it, rather than reserve it for a topping. The way I changed it, it's a lot higher in fat, unfortunately, but at least it's not going to waste. I could use this as a base recipe but that's all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
With a house full of sick people and a really yucky early spring day outside, I decided we needed a little down-home comfort food. This fit the bill nicely! I added a lot more black pepper because we like our food that way and I used yellow bell peppers to hide them from the kids. I have no idea what everyone will think of this soup, but I like it! I think next time I'll throw in some hot sauce and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by justynajd
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I'm rating this as AWESOME! The only thing I did differently was cook up an extra piece of bacon and then crumble two pieces in the chowder. The four of us had one piece to crumble on our bowl (sourdough bread bowls of course)! I used skim milk and it was plenty thick and creamy. I happened to have a bag of shredded triple cheddar which I think I will always put in this recipe. Great tip about the yellow pepper although my picky 12 year old still saw it. I think using white pepper would be helpful for those picky eaters too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I added some potatoes (but it would have been great either way) & accidentally left out the garlic, so I added some garlic powder when I realized this mistake. Awesome soup. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
We had this for dinner last night, and it was delicious. The leftovers for lunch today were even better. I followed the recipe pretty closely and added POTATOES as some other reviews suggested. This one is going in my recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shorty6542

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
It tasted way too much like cream-style corn which I don't like, and it wasn't creamy enough. I was a little disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
This is the best recipe for this type of soup. The only modification I make is adding additional broth, milk and corn starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Delicious! I threw in some mushrooms, potatoes and cayenne pepper. I bet it will taste even better tomorrow. (You need extra bacon if you have a bacon thief in the house like I do.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFlott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I had some leftover rotisserie chicken to use up so I decided to try this out. The only change I made was to add a second can of cream-style corn, only because I had two that had been in the pantry way too long and I wanted to use them up. I didn’t cook any bacon for this, but I did have some bacon grease in the fridge and used that to sauté my onion and red bell pepper. I thought the amount of corn starch might be too much, but it was just right. This was a great soup to have on a cold wintry night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had some leftover cooked chicken breast that needed to be used, so I picked this recipe. I had to modify it a little based on what I had on hand as well as personal preferences: I used a whole 12-ounce package of bacon, about 2 cups of frozen corn (no creamed corn on hand), a can of cream of celery soup (trying to make up for the creaminess from the missing creamed corn as well as not having bell pepper on hand) and flour instead of corn starch, because I think corn starch gives soups a weird texture. I also added a little extra salt, quite a bit more black pepper, and about 1 tsp of dried dill weed. I'm giving this 5 stars because the resulting soup was fantastic, and I'm sure the recipe as-written (still subbing flour for corn starch, though) would have been just as fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States