Chicken and Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by MrsWolfie
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
This was out of this world. My teenage son ate 3 bowls on the first night! I used canned corn all around (didn't have frozen) and since I didn't have the extra water from the frozen corn, I watched it to make sure it didn't dry. It did not- it turned out just fine. Next time, I may line the bottom of my soup bowls with the bacon bits, then pour the soup over so they soak into the soup. Will be making this again!!! **Update- FYI... since I was trying to see how economical I could be, I made this with CANNED chicken- and it worked out just fine! My family loved how it sort of fell apart in the soup and added all its flavor throughout. So if you have a can of chicken lingering in your pantry, here is a use for it. Yes, I did saute it just as the recipe calls for in bacon grease.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsWolfie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ridgefield, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Tried this recipe this weekend. It was great! I cheated a little, but only because it's what I had on hand. I also added about a head of steamed and pureed cauliflower to bulk up the veggie matter. The hubby loved it, too! This is definitely going in the regular winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This was an OK soup, but I wouldn't call it chowder. IMO the consistency was way too thin, and I even added a little more cheese and cornstarch. Doubtful that I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made this for my family and I felt like a ROCKSTAR!!! It was easy to make and the directions go in perfect order. The only thing I changed was I cut in Mozzarella cheese with the Cheddar cheese because I ran out of cheese. My kids thought it was amazing and the adults begged for more. The perfect fall soup for my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Chace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harwich, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Melrose, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I used a whole red pepper, doubled the onion and used 4 cloves of garlic. I used sea salt and fresh ground pepper and 2 cups of sharp cheddar cheese. The flavor was perfect. The problem was the soup didn't thicken as expected we wished it was thicker like a chowder but this worked.If I make this again I would also add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Made this without the chicken and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAROLYNBOERSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Olive, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This was so tasty! Hearty and just creamy enough. The only thing I did different was add more onion. I highly recommend this. And it's super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ItalianSpice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I thought this tasted okay. It didn't really have that homemade taste I was hoping for despite being nearly from scratch. I did like that it all fit in my pot with 3" sides. I followed the recipe exactly, except I left out the salt as I found it PLENTY salty. I added a pinch of garlic salt, only, in its place. I can't imagine adding an additional spoonful. I also wasn't sure why mine didn't quite thicken up, as I expected. Maybe, the leftovers will be a little thicker hopefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
For me, I don't need the bacon, it does add some depth and is a nice finishing touch, but I skip it to avoid the fat. I throw in a bunch of chopped carrots and potatoes to make this a more substantial stew-like meal. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCmofo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
Loved it! Since I had the chicken and potatoes (added) already cooked as leftovers - it was easy AND yummy! No need to change a thing! :) Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B.Mace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Firehouse Country Chicken

Satisfy a big hungry crew with this hearty firehouse chicken and sausage stew.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States