Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use up my frest thyme and came across this one. Luckily, I had all of the other ingredients and BOY am I glad! This is soooo good! Perfect for a clod evening's meal! WIll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great. I don't use the bacon because my brother doesn't eat pork; just cut the onions into rings so my husband can pick them out easier - he hates onions. Those were the only changes. We make this about once a month. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Yummy! I used minced onion and dried thyme and added about a cup of cheddar cheese. My 3 and 4 yr old boys ate every bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I wish it had more seasoning...but overall pretty good. I would probably substitute some potato for some other veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It's not really bad soup, but I found it quite bland and boring. If you're looking for a basic soup for picky kids or delicate stomachs, this might serve the purpose, but I wasn't very impressed. At least I had an excuse to make bacon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
great recipe! my husband loved it! it's great with a few pieces of red pepper thrown in too! I used home made chicken broth, and only 3 cups of corn (four seemed like a lot!). I also cut my potatoes really small (hash-brown sized) because I don't like biting into a chunk of potato! The last thing I did was use whip cream and skim milk instead of half and half, because thats what i had on hand. I found i had to add starch to it to thicken it too. The results were just barely below curdling. I'm not sure if this is because i boiled it, or because of the starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystaharder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Great soup. I combined this recipe with another chicken and corn chowder recipe (also on allrecipes.com). Left out the thyme (I just don't care for it). Added 1 clove of minced garlic in with the onions, used half & half combined with corn starch instead of milk and added 1 can of cream-style corn in with the frozen corn. I also sauted the chicken in the bacon fat along with the onions and garlic for added flavor. Topped with the bacon and added cheddar cheese. The soup turned out very creamy and hearty. My husband and I both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This was very good! My whole family loved it and, of course, it was even better the next day. I followed the recipe exactly. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is because it was way too soupy to be called a chowder, in my opinion. Once I added some cornstarch, it thickened up a little. Next time I will try using only 1 can of chicken broth. Delicious! Will definitely make again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I used this recipe as an idea to help me create a chicken corn chowder that even the pickiest eater could love. Try using 1 1/2 cups heavy cream instead of half an half, also ommit the thyme for picky eater sand young ones, instead increase the flavor by adding two strips more bacon and use shallots with your onions when sauteeing vegetables as well as plenty of diced garlic. Finally, I added cornstarch h to thicken as the recipe given will yeild a runny soup.... Enjoy chowder is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I made this recipe according to the directions and it was a little bland. I will make it again but will need to spice it up somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenniflower

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States