Chicken and Corn Chowder with Thyme Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by depotgirl
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Little watery
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
I should have read more reviews on thickening it before but I will next time - I used 2 split chicken breasts and boiled them to make my own broth (was plenty of meat for a large pot) and used half that and half canned to cut the sodium - happened to have some of my moms canned corn so that was perfect. Also used half milk, half 1/2 n 1/2 to save calories. Everything else was great except I would prefer a thicker consistency!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
This recipe was really tasty. Instead of using half and half I used some 2% milk and corn starch to thicken it up. It turned out great! I paired it with some homemade garlic and cracked pepper beer bread and my husband devoured it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I didn't think this was all that great when I made it, but when I ate it the next day, I couldn't stop. Maybe I'll always make this ahead of time! I did add an 8 oz package of cheddar to the soup - can't imagine the soup without it. I also use Morningstar Farms soy bacon instead of real. It's a little thin off the stove, but it thickens up overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use up my frest thyme and came across this one. Luckily, I had all of the other ingredients and BOY am I glad! This is soooo good! Perfect for a clod evening's meal! WIll definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traceyposner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Great. I don't use the bacon because my brother doesn't eat pork; just cut the onions into rings so my husband can pick them out easier - he hates onions. Those were the only changes. We make this about once a month. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Yummy! I used minced onion and dried thyme and added about a cup of cheddar cheese. My 3 and 4 yr old boys ate every bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I wish it had more seasoning...but overall pretty good. I would probably substitute some potato for some other veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
It's not really bad soup, but I found it quite bland and boring. If you're looking for a basic soup for picky kids or delicate stomachs, this might serve the purpose, but I wasn't very impressed. At least I had an excuse to make bacon. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
great recipe! my husband loved it! it's great with a few pieces of red pepper thrown in too! I used home made chicken broth, and only 3 cups of corn (four seemed like a lot!). I also cut my potatoes really small (hash-brown sized) because I don't like biting into a chunk of potato! The last thing I did was use whip cream and skim milk instead of half and half, because thats what i had on hand. I found i had to add starch to it to thicken it too. The results were just barely below curdling. I'm not sure if this is because i boiled it, or because of the starch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krystaharder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States