Chicken and Corn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I thought this was a bit boring and a little too sweet for my taste. I'd prefer a thicker sauce and more of it. I left out the cumin because I'm not a fan. Perhaps the folks who liked it put in lots of spice to make up for the lack of flavor? I definitely would suggest adding another can of beans, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plattsburgh, New York, USA
Living In: Tolland, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Charlotte Gouvier
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
First of all, this recipe looks nothing like the chili in the main photo, but that's ok, because it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, with 1 tsp of pepper and 2 tsp of salt. I will definitely make this one again, and next time I will double the recipe so I can freeze some. It only served about 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crleopold
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I used two cans of black beans instead. Added one can of chopped green chilies. Will decrease chicken to three breasts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
Excellent recipe! I followed another reviewers suggestion and just put all the ingredients in at the same time. It was so good! Next time I'll probably do one less chicken breast and an extra can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Swinton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Just made this tasty meal. Put it over some white rice. Perfect for this chilly day Saturday afternoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marvin Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, Maryland, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
We love this! I make two changes: 1. Sub black beans for pinto--just my preference 2. Sub 1 C of frozen corn for the 11 oz can of Mexican corn. Double the cumin and give an extra sprinkle of chili to compensate. *I cook this all day long--with all ingredients--so it's ready when we get home from work. Tastes great this way; don't know if I'm missing anything since I've not been able to add ingredients along the way as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was great and my family raved about it! I made a few changes. I used 3 cloves of garlic instead of garlic powder, I added about 2 tablespoons of chopped white onion. I had no pinto beans so I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of garbonzo beans. I added a can of tomatoes and used all the spices it calls for plus cayenne pepper for more kick. I had no corn on hand but it was not noticed. The wonderful thing is the chicken basically shreds by itself once in the crock pot for 6-8 hours so that step was skipped.It was great because I used it as soup but my family put it in a tortilla for chicken burritoes and topped it with sour cream, lettuce, and salsa. WONDERFUL recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
We enjoyed this. Your choice of jarred salsa can make or break this dish, so choose a great one and don't sell the recipe short. Delicious! I drained the corn and beans. Made as written is great, but it was great the second and third times with personal changes. It is a great and easy base for something you can make really complex on your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I made this exactly as directed and it was delicious! I'm sure whatever salsa you use will make a big difference, (I used H-E-B Medium Salsa) but I really enjoyed this and so did my guests. I'll definitely make it again; it's very low maintenance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Rozmus

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
My whole family totally loved this. So simple, so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 505) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States