Chicken and Corn Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
not sure how to add 1/2 stars--this was SOOO easy and good--I added a 4oz can of green chilies--used about 2 tsps of jarred garlic instead of powder--no corn (didn't have any & not a big fan of corn in chili or burritos)--cooked for about 8 hours, shredded the chicken, added a can of drained & rinsed black beans--cooked for 2-3 more hours--and put in large flour taco shells--added lettuce, onion and whatever toppings we desired--very good--I love easy and good crock pot recipes--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Added 3/4 to 1 cup chicken broth, 2 cups frozen corn thawed, 1 can pinto beans and 1 can black beans drained, 2 tblsp minced garlic, 1 can tiny diced tomatoes, 1 can diced green chilies. About 45 minutes before done add corn and beans. My husband who has always said my old chili recipe was his favorite raved about this one. Best of all it is low in calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Delicious but will try a different proportion next time - seemed like it could use more ingredients other than chicken. I used 1.5 chicken breasts instead of 2, black beans instead of pinto, and frozen corn instead of canned. Next time will try the same plus a can of kidney or pinto beans, can of diced tomatoes, can of diced green chilis, and top with sour cream, green onions and sliced black olives. Great as dip, burritos or tacos. Want to try on greens for taco salad, and as enchilada meat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Good with tortilla chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Lake, Ohio, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I made this recipe exactly as stated and it turned out great. I did not drain the liquid from the corn or beans and the consistency was perfect. However, there was a lot of chicken so I think you could easily get away with 2 or 3 breasts instead of 4. I am looking forward to trying this with different salsa and bean combinations such as pineapple salsa with black beans. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulabelle67

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
amazing! I just cooked the chicken quick in a pot on the stove with the salsa, then put everything in the crock pot for 3-4 hours. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
I am giving this four stars because it smelled wonderful, but seemed to be missing something in the way of flavor kick. My hubby suggested maybe a little taco seasoning next time. I also would do 2 or 3 chicken breasts as another review suggested because it was mostly shredded chicken. I loved the combo, though, and hope to make this again with a little pizazz...Thanks! **I am updating my review to a "5" because we did a re-try on this recipe after the leftovers were frozen and thawed a week later. This must have been the trick for the flavor meld, because I would NOT have added anything the second time, and it was very good! Fresh out of the oven was not the flavor best for this dish! Definitely needed a little time to "meld."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This is a really good recipe, but if you're craving more traditional chili this might not be for you. To me if was more like a chunky tortilla soup. After my initial tasting I added a few dashes of hot sauce & topped with greek yogurt and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Made this for dinner last night and it was delicious!! I added a pepper in adobo sauce and 2 cans of diced tomatoes and used black beans instead of pinto beans. Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seawillow

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Very good, hearty, and so so easy. I didn't cook the chicken overnight, but cooked everything together for about 4 hours on high, then shredded the chicken and cooked another hour on low. I put in bread bowls and added avocado and sour cream for lunch. This makes a ton of chili--I packed a couple of bags for the freezer, and we still have enough leftovers for a couple of meals. We really enjoyed this one. I added a little bit of chicken broth and a little more salsa since I had a bit leftover and didn't want to put it in the fridge. I thought about adding sweet peppers but didn't think about it until it was too late--I'm sure it would go well in this. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 498) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States