Chicken and Cold Noodles with Spicy Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Doughgirl8
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
One of my favorite warm-weather meals is the Chicken with Cold Noodles from Szechuan Noodle Bowl in Seattle. This is close, but I want to play with it a little. The sauce was a little thinner than I'd like, but it was still very good. We added julienned carrots and cucumber, like the restaurant does.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doughgirl8

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Northfield, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
I had a bunch of leftover linguini from a catering gig that was pretty bland (had oil and sun-dried tomatoes on it) and was looking for a good use. This worked out great and tasted just like the sesame cold noodles I get from Chinese take-out. I totally agree with lovemymutts' review - I skipped the chicken. This could use a touch of sweetness, so I think the natural peanut butter would do the trick (or a mix with tahini). I also toasted some black sesame seeds and threw them in, and subbed sriracha sauce for the chili oil, as I did not have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Excellent - I added a bit more water to the finished dish just before serving to make the noodles a little 'wetter' - the resulting sauce was wonderful! I also added a good sized handful of chopped fresh cilantro. Definitely a "make-again"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by legof

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I could take or leave the chicken part. I made mine with regular pasta and it was delicious! It happens to taste just like Annie's Goddess Dressing. Yum! I think it would also be great substituting peanut butter (the real stuff not Jif) for the tahini.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
It's hard to give this a rating because the family had mixed reviews. 2 of us loved it (the females) and 2 did not like it at all (the males). I followed the recipe except for being unable to get chili oil at my grocery store. Both of the guys felt like something was missing - vegetables?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2006
This was a HIT with my family, including the 2 year old. I made some changes - doubled it all, seved warm, used whole wheat penne pasta, and blanched 1 bunch of bok choi leaves and steams (sliced small) for 2 minutes in the reserve liquid and added it to the mix. In addition, I just mixed everything together rather than putting the chicken on top of the pasta. It went great with roasted asparagus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
Outstanding...it was all gone; I made a double portion to share with friends. I had no peanut oil or tahini so I used canola oil and peanut butter. I used the flat 'linguine' type Chinese noodles. It can be heated if you prefer it that way....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
This is also good warm. I made a double batch: half to eat warm at dinner and half to chill for lunch the next day. Very tasty. I can't seem to find hot chili oil anywhere, so I substituted a smaller amount of Tabasco sauce. EDITED TO ADD: Finally located some chile oil, and the recipe is even better using it (the full amount called for in the recipe). I've found that the chicken needs to cook a bit longer, closer to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2005
Okay this was great, but I had to make alot of substitutions. My tahini was a little dried out so I used peanut butter. I used udon noodles, and chili sauce instead of chili oil (1/4 t is all you need, it's hot!). Minor changes, but I LOVED the end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States