Chicken and Cheese Stuffed Jumbo Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Can't give it 5 stars, because I made a lot of changes. But I use most recipes as a base, anyway. Used 2 chicken breasts, simmered in olive oil with crushed garlic and italian seasoning until done. Put the chicken in a blender on 'salsa' to chop it up (much easier than tearing with forks!). Added the oil (which was about 1/8 cup), 1/2 c bread crumbs, 15oz ricotta, 1/2 c mozz, 1/4 c parmesean and mixed together. Used 1/2 box of shells, boiled and stuffed, then refridgerated for the next day. I get home much later than my boyfriend, so it was convenient to just pour jarred alfredo and some mozz, throw it in the oven for 30 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
I really enjoyed this! I made a few changes as I was using up leftovers. I already had 2 cooked chicken breasts that I cubed, and I left out the onion. (The chicken was already herbed so I didn't use basil or oregano.) I mixed the egg with 8 oz ricotta cheese and maybe 4 oz of parmesan, and added some dried parsley (to make it more like lasagna cheese, which I adore). Then I added about 1/2 cup of bread crumbs. I tossed the chicken and egg/cheese mixture in a skillet and heated it to melt the cheeses, adding in a few handfuls of mozzarella as well. It looked a little dry (especially with the bread crumbs) so I tossed in three tablespoons or so of sour cream. For the tomato sauce I used a 28-oz bottle of spaghetti sauce and added a can of diced tomatoes as well. When I put everything in the pan I first poured in a layer of tomato sauce so that the shells wouldn't stick to the pan. It turned out beautifully, and the stuffing is creamy and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
I made this recipe for 10 people on Mothers Day and everyone liked it. We all thought the variance of chicken in a mostly italian dish was good. The shells were easy to stuff as the stuffing mixture sticks together very easily. The only thing I changed the second time I made it was taking out the cheddar cheese and doubling the mozzarella and using a jarred spaghetti sauce instead of the plain tomato sauce. Very good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2001
Although next time I will use a thicker sauce than tomato, it was easy to make and my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Delicious! Used spaghetti sauce instead of tomato sauce and added 15 oz lite ricotta with the chicken and mozarella. Excluded the cheddar and doubled the mozarella. This one is added to the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and made some modifications. It turned out very well. I sauted the onion and chicken with garlic in olive oil. when the chicken was about done I added the spices and then shredded the ckicken. I also took one beaten egg, 1/2 cup of cottage cheese (all out of ricotta) and 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese and mixed that with the chicken mixture. Stuffed the shells and topped it with tomato-cream sauce for pasta from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2001
I liked this recipe but cooking the chicken as the recipe described was messy. Next time I'll cook the chicken first and then throw it in the skillet with bread crumbs, etc. I also used manicotti tubes and pasta sauce instead (what I had on hand) and that worked well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
WONDERFUL!! Used spaghetti sauce instead of the tomatoe sauce, and added extra mozzerella. No problems with my non-stick frying pan. Definitely worth the work--Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Excellent, tasted like chicken parm in shells. Was hesitant at first b/c of adding bread crumbs to the pan, but was extremely pleased with the results :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I thought the sauce was a little bland. I will make again with my own sauce and will shred the chicken before I stuff the shells.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANDY5473

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grandview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States