Chicken and Cheese Stuffed Jumbo Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was ok. I liked the filling but wasnt crazy about the sauce. I think this would be so much better with a white sauce instead of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
GREAT flavor. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good recipe, but I a few of alterations. I cut out the egg and used some olive oil instead. I cooked the onion and the chicken, along with a couple garlic cloves in a skillet. When the chicken was nearly fully cooked I added the basil, oregano, salt and pepper and sauted for a bit longer. I them removed that from the pan into a bowl and added the cheese. I didn't like the idea of putting cheese into a hot skillet (seems like too much of a mess to me). The cheese melted perfectly and I mixed that, along with some fresh Parmesan. Filled the shells, and put them into a pan and used nearly 3x the sauce, added the cheese and I baked for 25 covered and 10 uncovered. I'm not sure how it would of turned out without these changes, but my boyfriend raved about this and demands it on at least a bi-weekly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a delicious meal! I would recommend using your favorite pasta sauce rather than tomato sauce. You could also use a bit more than it recommends to ensure it is nice and moist. I added half a container of ricotta as well, could have probably used the whole thing. I also shredded my chicken, which made it great for stuffing with! Definitely give this one a try. But the fantastic thing about Italian food is that you can change things a little here and there and the recipe will still come out wonderful. So don't be afraid to experiment and "personalize" this recipe. I think it just makes it more fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These were enjoyed. As others have warned they do take quite a bit of time, although they were easy. I too, think a little more sauce is needed not to keep the shells from drying out, mine were fine, but the shells do soak up some liquid when baking and a little extra is required for when they are served. Using all the shells made more than I could fit in a 9 x 13" baking dish so I prepared them and froze the rest. It should feed 2 for another meal which is always nice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I wish I would have added ricottas. Seemed really dry and I would use 1/2 the bread crumbs.Would make again with some changes.. Kids liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I love this recipe as a starting point. I did make a few changes. I used ground turkey instead of chicken. I also added spinach and garlic to the mixture. I used a homemade spaghetti sauce to top the shells in the oven and prevent them from getting tough. Overall great recipe, THANX!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROWNSKYNLADY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sara
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I have made this dish a couple of times, and it turns out great every time! Pretty easy too!I love using the different types of cheese, not traditonal in most pasta dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tallmadge, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
These were very good. I used my homade sauce and also added a small amount of french onion dip. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
I felt this recipe was very average. I even added extra parmesian cheese and sauted some celery in with the mixture. My family didn't complain, but it didn't get any compliments either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Garlic-Lemon Double Stuffed Chicken

See how to make cheese-stuffed chicken breasts drenched with a lemon-butter sauce

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States