Chicken and Cheese Stuffed Jumbo Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
Thank you! My three year old is extremely picky and he ate every last bite of this dish. I used manicotti, added 2 cloves of garlic, colby jack instead of cheddar and a hearty tomato sauce and it was great; a lot better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ozark, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimiko Proctor
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was very tasty! I think it would so much better with ground beef instead of chicken. Next time I make this I will make it with ground beef instead. Other than that, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimiko Proctor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
This was really good and I also made some changes based on a few recommendations of others. I doubled the recipe for our big family and added some cheddar cheese, a package of frozen, chopped spinach, some parmesan and romano, and used leftover rotisserie chicken (put through a food processor). I did use two eggs but did not use any bread crumbs and it was amazing. I also seasoned it with some salt/pepper. I never measure anything when I cook, so just "wing it" and you won't go wrong with this recipe! This will definitely be one we repeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
I used this recipe as a base and made some modifications. It turned out very well. I sauted the onion and chicken with garlic in olive oil. when the chicken was about done I added the spices and then shredded the ckicken. I also took one beaten egg, 1/2 cup of cottage cheese (all out of ricotta) and 1/4 cup of parmesan cheese and mixed that with the chicken mixture. Stuffed the shells and topped it with tomato-cream sauce for pasta from this site. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was ok. I liked the filling but wasnt crazy about the sauce. I think this would be so much better with a white sauce instead of red sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
GREAT flavor. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kat Bresler

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Good recipe, but I a few of alterations. I cut out the egg and used some olive oil instead. I cooked the onion and the chicken, along with a couple garlic cloves in a skillet. When the chicken was nearly fully cooked I added the basil, oregano, salt and pepper and sauted for a bit longer. I them removed that from the pan into a bowl and added the cheese. I didn't like the idea of putting cheese into a hot skillet (seems like too much of a mess to me). The cheese melted perfectly and I mixed that, along with some fresh Parmesan. Filled the shells, and put them into a pan and used nearly 3x the sauce, added the cheese and I baked for 25 covered and 10 uncovered. I'm not sure how it would of turned out without these changes, but my boyfriend raved about this and demands it on at least a bi-weekly basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was a delicious meal! I would recommend using your favorite pasta sauce rather than tomato sauce. You could also use a bit more than it recommends to ensure it is nice and moist. I added half a container of ricotta as well, could have probably used the whole thing. I also shredded my chicken, which made it great for stuffing with! Definitely give this one a try. But the fantastic thing about Italian food is that you can change things a little here and there and the recipe will still come out wonderful. So don't be afraid to experiment and "personalize" this recipe. I think it just makes it more fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
These were enjoyed. As others have warned they do take quite a bit of time, although they were easy. I too, think a little more sauce is needed not to keep the shells from drying out, mine were fine, but the shells do soak up some liquid when baking and a little extra is required for when they are served. Using all the shells made more than I could fit in a 9 x 13" baking dish so I prepared them and froze the rest. It should feed 2 for another meal which is always nice. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
I wish I would have added ricottas. Seemed really dry and I would use 1/2 the bread crumbs.Would make again with some changes.. Kids liked it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Asparagus and Mozzarella Stuffed Chicken Breasts

A simple recipe that yeilds fancy results.

Stuffed Shells I

Baked pasta shells with spaghetti sauce and Parmesan cheese.

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States