Chicken and Cheese Stuffed Jumbo Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The stuffing for these is wonderful--very tasty. However, when I make this dish again, I will not use tomato sauce as the topping. It lacked flavor. I plan to make my spaghetti sauce without meat and pour over it. Or a canned spaghetti sauce would work as well. But just using the tomato sauce was not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
this was pretty good. it was fairly easy to make too, even stuffing the shells was simple. i made the stuffing the night before because i work late. the only thing i wasn't too fond of was the breadcrumbs. it's a little too mushy for me. next time i will substitute stuffing instead. other than that it was delicious and for sure a recipe for the books.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chefbound

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ontario, Oregon, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
This was Awesome! My Hubby and fam really enjoyed them. Although I did add a few things. I added a jar of minced garlic, a can of Italian tomatoes, and a can of rotel. I also added marinara sauce in the chicken mixture. It turned out great will def do this over. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
We use this recipe all the time! Our family doesn't like a lot of onion so I leave them out. And I use seasoned breadcrumbs and omit the spices. I also don't bother melting the cheese in the pan before stuffing the shells. Everything gets melted when it bakes anyway. Even my 7 year old asks for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was SOOO yummy. I used shredded chicken I had left over. Seasoned it with garlic, oregano, etc. Added a spoonful of cream cheese (sour cream would work too) mixed it all together and filled the shells. Definitely use the biggest shells, I had the medium size and it took forever to fill them all :) Used spaghetti sauce on top. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Weiershauser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was a great dish! I thought it would be dry but turned out great. Didn't last long at my house and more filling than they look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This was a good dish! Made them for a pot-luck style dinner. marinated the chicken first in an Italian dressing, then tossed with the breadcrumbs. Had used "Best marinara sauce" recipe instead of jarred sauce. Made a lot and had few trays for dinner, watched as many had 2-3 on their plate each trip!! Was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Rosenboom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
I absolutely loved this! It was a nice change from beef manicotti shells. The only thing I changed was I added some ricotta cheese into the stuffing. Next time I make it I'll probably grill the chicken a bit before adding the bread crumbs. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I used other reviewers suggestions and simmered the chicken in olive oil, garlic, and italian seasonings. I used fresh basil and oregano in the filling and also added about 1.5 oz cream cheese to the mixture. I made a whole box of shells and froze half of them for another time. Very good! thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJsMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Kind of plain tasting, and I didn't have much on hand to fix that. Too much prep for not so much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyni

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Stuffed Shells III

See how to make a top-rated recipe for cheesy stuffed pasta shells.

Cheesy Stuffed Shells

These shells are an easy weeknight dinner, and they’re fun to make, too.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States