Chicken and Cheese Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CoOkInGnUt
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Ok after making these 2 different times I'm ready to share my thoughts... The first time the cheese sauce was to much made it runny and way to sloppy for our liking. The taste was ok but felt the cheese over ruled the whole idea of a enchilada.... So here is what we did different that so made this a 5 star recipe and will be made often at our house again. First we boiled the chicken an shredded it, used corn tortillas(what we prefer over flour), and a can of enchilada sauce... What we did was mixed 1/2 the cheese soup (mixed the soup with only a 1/4 cup milk) with the shredded chicken rolled in corn tortillas, over the rolled tortillas we put the remaining cheese soup and drizzled the enchilada sauce over that...Finishing with a sprinkle of shredded cheese and sliced jalapenos. Also we had the salsa on the side with sour cream because not everyone in our house likes salsa. We finished off the pan from last night today for lunch as was just as good if not better then last night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
These turned out really good. I used Campbell's Fiesta nacho cheese soup since it's what I had and skipped the salsa. I chopped up a roasted frozen Hatch chile pepper for this as I didn't have canned. I also used corn tortillas because to me that is traditional for enchiladas. I wasn't paying close attention so I mixed the chiles and powder into the soup too rather than just the filling. It worked great that way and next time I will do it that way again. This was good but needed a lot more sauce and could have used double. I got 10 enchiladas from this. Thanks, I'll make this again, it was fast and easy. We topped it with a little sour cream and it was even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
This turned out to be pretty tasty! Putting it in the oven I wasn't feeling to sure but when it came out it was golden on top and it good good reviews from my family. My alterations: Since I didn't have any leftover chicken to use I cut up 4 breases and cooked them in some mojo sauce. I also forgot to buy the cheese soup so I made some cheese sauce from a recipe here on this site. I will make this again, possibly adding in some sauteed peppers and onions. Maybe some black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sandybird

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
My husband gave this dish a ten is was super easy to make. I did use Rotel instead of green chilies but so good. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
I used a can of regular Cheese soup and a can of the Fiesta Cheese soup for the sauce. I also sprinkled grated cheddar on top. I liked the filling much better than the sauce topping, it was too processed tasting. I will keep looking for a better Chicken Enchilada recipe, this one missed the mark for us. Not bad but not great either, just so-so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Surprisingly good and easy to make. I just used canned chicken and in addition to using the chili powder I used half a packet of taco bell taco seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I love this recipe. My friend came over the other day, and I had leftovers, so I sent her home with some. Next thing I know, my friend says she wants it for her birthday dinner. I did make a few alterations. I added shredded cheese in the mixture, and i put the green chiles in, but I also aded salsa in the mix too. On top, I mixed salsa with the cheese sauce and poured it over the top, and topped it with more shredded cheese. Thats the way i made it for my friend, and she asked me for the recipe so that she could make it for her husband. Love this recipe! It is now a favorite in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This is one of my favorite recipes to cook! It's so good! LOVE IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladiebug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Spring, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Perfect as is. No changes needed, other than using my favorite hot sauce ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommamelder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I am just starting to cook. For me, this was a confidence builder! Easy to do and I got lots of compliments. I added lots of shredded cheddar cheese and less cheddar cheese coup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkHink

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Chicken Stock

Chicken broth and stock are heavy hitters for your holiday feast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States