Chicken and Cheese Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! It's super easy and quick! I do make some changes, instead of cooking the crescents and sauce together, I cook the crescents chicken and cheese alone (bake until golden brown), then make the sauce to pour overtop or put on the side of the roll. That way you can have it as soggy or as flacky as you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
I've been making this dish for years! It is my husbands favorite! The only change I make, is I use boneless, skinless chicken breast...boil them in water until no longer pink then shred. I enjoy the taste with white chicken much better. You can also just get a can of chicken breast for an even quicker dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
I cooked the chicken crescents without the soup mixture and heated the soup mixture on the stove and poured that over the rolls right before we ate them. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2002
Turned out better than expected! I used only 1 can cream of chicken and 1 1/2 cups of milk. I also added broccoli and used 8 grands crescents instead of regular and used the rest as rolls on the side. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I LOVED THIS RECIPE AND SO DID MY KIDS! I SUBTITUTED 1 CAN OF CREAM OF CHICKEN SOUP WITH 1 CAN OF CHEDDAR CHEESE SOUP IT WAS GREAT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I just don't get the 5 star ratings. I made this exactly as described and I did not care for the recpe. The bread was nice and brown, not too soggy, lots of sauce, chunks of chicken etc. and with all of this it still managed to be very bland. My husband immediately got up to get seasoning to add. My kids wouldn't touch it, not even my 18 month old who loves everything (I mean, she ate an entire bunch of chopped chives last week, for pete's sake). I would have thrown out the leftovers (and there were plenty) but my husband said he'd take them for lunch. It wasn't awful, just bland, and for the amount of fat and calories here, I wasn't going to eat bland AND fatty food. Needless to say, I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUSHSH70

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I make this often and my family loves it. I only use one can of soup, one can of milk, and I dont roll the crescents as the bottom seem to get soggy. I typically use chicken breasts, season with some garlic powder, salt, pepper, whatever I feel like - nothing fancy. Add a little water and cover and cook over medium heat until cooked. Shred with forks. Mix chicken with soup, milk, and cheese until blended and add to baking dish. Layer the crescent roll dough on top and sprinkle cheese on top and bake until crescent rolls are browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
We did not like this. I ended up throwing it away and fixing the kids some sandwiches. I chose this recipe because it sounded really quick and we had to leave with little notice. The cooking time was way off-the rolls were still doughy. I honestly think they will always be soggy with all that soup on them. I have only made a meal 2 or 3 times in my life that we absolutely couldn't eat and this one falls into that elite catagory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
Thanks to previous reviews we really enjoyed this dish! I took the advice given by several reviewers when I made this and it turned out great. I added some green onions to the chicken and cheese in the crescents and baked the crescents for 10 minutes. I used one can of soup and one cup of milk, poured it over the baked crescents and then baked them for another ten minutes. As previously mentioned, this really is like a chicken pot pie and would be great for a cold winter night. Thanks again for all the advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
As written, I would give this a 3. First time I made it, it was a disaster. The crescent rolls weren't done and the sauce was starting to burn the sides of the dish. With modifications, I give it a 5, hands down. Here's what I do for 2 people: dice up 3-4 potatoes and make mashed potatoes slice a boneless, skinless chicken breast and cook (about 1" square pieces) until done add chicken and cheese to each crescent roll (usually 3 pieces of chicken per roll and cover with shredded colby/monterey jack cheese) Bake rolls at 350 for 11-13 mins Add 1-1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup cheese (same kind as above), 1 can of cream of chicken soup and any remaining chicken (to be used as sauce) and heat until warm (add cheese after soup/milk mix is warm and whisk until melted) Keep whisking as the cheese will stick to the bottom of the pan Serve! I place crescent rolls and cover with mashed potatoes (or place potatoes in middle and surround with rolls) and cover with the soupy mixture. I make this about once a week as it is my hubby's favorite recipe. When I tell him that's what we're having for dinner, he ALWAYS leaves work early. :) Thank you so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States