Chicken and Cheese Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Thank goodness my husband is the sweetest, most gracious man alive! This was not good. The soup prevented the crescents from cooking on the bottom making a big, hot, raw soupy dough MESS. If I dare try this again [BIG IF] I will take the advice of another user and cook the crescents with the chicken before adding any sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I loved this recipe but I wish there was a way to get the bottom of the crecent crispy like the top. I didn't try cooking them separate like previously suggested but in hindsight it would be better. I also saw a comment about it being bland (which chicken with cream of chicken soup seemed redundant) so I used cream of mushroom instead. It was fantastic! I bet you could sub in any cream of -- soup with a chicken friendly flavor and get great taste! my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
As written, I give this a 2. This turned out to be a sticky, gooey mess. The dough was not baked after the first 15 minutes. I baked it 8 minutes longer before it "looked" alright. I then added the rest of sauce and cheese and baked for another 2-3 minutes. The dough was uncooked on the inside even after the additional baking time. The flavor was good, so I will try it again, however, I will follow other reviews and bake the cresents alone and add the sauce only when I can be sure they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love this! I've always creamed 1/2 cup cream cheese in place of one can of soup then mix it with the soup, milk, and cheese. I also bake the crescents first, just until golden brown, then put it back in the oven so all the cheese melts. i never can make enough to go around. There is no such thing as leftovers with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Yum! Simple and easy! Add some diced Jalapenos for some zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very easy to put together. It is time consuming but worth the time. My teenage picky eatting daughters really liked it. Which says a lot in my book! Thank you for sharing this recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was so quick and easy. Just boil the chicken for a little bit and follow directions!!! The only thing I did different was instead of 2 cans of cream of chicken, I did one cream of chicken, one cream of mushroom, and used fat free milk. Delicious and loved by all guest I was suprised to find out that they were coming over!! All things I had on hand. great with peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made the following changes: Cut the amount in half (but kept the original amount of cheese). I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast, shredded. I cooked this with 1/2 the cheese and added 4 ounces of cream cheese. I wrapped this in the crescents and baked (no sauce). I mixed up the soup, milk, the rest of the cheese, and 4 more ounces of cream cheese, and cooked in a sauce pan until smooth. so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Fair -- not bad but not wonderful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
As written, I would give this a 3. First time I made it, it was a disaster. The crescent rolls weren't done and the sauce was starting to burn the sides of the dish. With modifications, I give it a 5, hands down. Here's what I do for 2 people: dice up 3-4 potatoes and make mashed potatoes slice a boneless, skinless chicken breast and cook (about 1" square pieces) until done add chicken and cheese to each crescent roll (usually 3 pieces of chicken per roll and cover with shredded colby/monterey jack cheese) Bake rolls at 350 for 11-13 mins Add 1-1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup cheese (same kind as above), 1 can of cream of chicken soup and any remaining chicken (to be used as sauce) and heat until warm (add cheese after soup/milk mix is warm and whisk until melted) Keep whisking as the cheese will stick to the bottom of the pan Serve! I place crescent rolls and cover with mashed potatoes (or place potatoes in middle and surround with rolls) and cover with the soupy mixture. I make this about once a week as it is my hubby's favorite recipe. When I tell him that's what we're having for dinner, he ALWAYS leaves work early. :) Thank you so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States