Chicken and Cheese Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This was really good. I will agree a little salty. I just put a tablespoon of the sauce over the cheese before I rolled them up and they were perfect. Still flaky. I need to figure out the salty problem and then we will for sure make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
This was a big hit in my house tonight! My older two daughters, 8 & 6, helped assemble the crescents. I took the advice of some readers and didn't pour the sauce on until after they had baked. I also used both cans of soup, but half the milk and a little more cheese to make the sauce thicker and cheesier. To lower the calories and fat, I used low fat crescents, low fat cheese (don't use fat free, it won't melt properly), 1% milk, and low fat/low sodium soup. Will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
This was really, really good! The next time I make this I will wait till I serve it to pour on the soup mixture. I thought that the crescents came out soggy. Other than that, this will definitely be made in this house again! Oh and I used a can of the cheese soup as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heatherbug82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Port Richey, Florida, USA
Living In: Hanover, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
I wish 4.5 stars were an option. This was a very good & very easy recipe. My initial reaction was that it tasted too salty, but everyone else gobbled it up like there was no tomorrow and thought I was crazy. The toddlers weren't impressed at all, but that's not saying much. We talked about making a few minor additions... finely chopped celery & slivered almonds would have given it a nice texture and mild flavor. I'll certainly make this again. I wish I could tell you how they are left-over... 4 adults and 2 toddlers ate them all up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ambridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hickory, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
My hisband and 9 year old daughter really liked. I din't care for it though. I baked it without the sauce and let everyone add it at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I love this recipe! It's super easy and quick! I do make some changes, instead of cooking the crescents and sauce together, I cook the crescents chicken and cheese alone (bake until golden brown), then make the sauce to pour overtop or put on the side of the roll. That way you can have it as soggy or as flacky as you would like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
I just don't get the 5 star ratings. I made this exactly as described and I did not care for the recpe. The bread was nice and brown, not too soggy, lots of sauce, chunks of chicken etc. and with all of this it still managed to be very bland. My husband immediately got up to get seasoning to add. My kids wouldn't touch it, not even my 18 month old who loves everything (I mean, she ate an entire bunch of chopped chives last week, for pete's sake). I would have thrown out the leftovers (and there were plenty) but my husband said he'd take them for lunch. It wasn't awful, just bland, and for the amount of fat and calories here, I wasn't going to eat bland AND fatty food. Needless to say, I won't try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRUSHSH70

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
My boyfriend only asks me to repeat recipes if he really loves something since we both love trying new foods. He had barely finished his first bite when he said this one was a keeper! I thought it made way too much sauce, but he said to keep the amount the same and serve it with mashed potatoes next time, as a sort of gravy. I cooked the crescent rolls with the chicken in them for about 15 minutes, until they were almost done, then I added the soup mixture, which I had been cooking on the stovetop. I baked for about 10 more minutes, until the crescent tops were browned and crispy. I had quite a bit of leftover shredded chicken so I just mixed that into the soup while it was simmering on the stove. I did use 1 can of cream of chicken and 1 can of cheddar cheese soup. Thanks for the yummy comfort food recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
The amount of sauce that this recipe made seemed to be far too much for the rolls, and I found that the rolls did not cook properly in the time specified with all that liquid around them. The concept is good, though, and I believe I will make it again only cooking the rolls and sauce separately and pouring the heated sauce over the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsJPS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
My boyfriend loved the dish. I enjoyed it. I think the ingredients have very good potential, but the recipe needs to be seriously modified. I didn't read the previous reviews. If I had, I would have made a few changes. First of all, I would cook the crescent rolls with the chicken and cheese before adding the sauce. I felt the rolls didn't have the opportunity to rise and brown resulting in a doughy taste. Second, I would only use half of the sauce mixture after the crescent rolls have browned. I did use more than one cup of cheese. I feel once I make these modifications to the recipe it will be worth 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy broiled chicken with perfectly crispy skin.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States