Chicken and Cheese Crescents Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Thank goodness my husband is the sweetest, most gracious man alive! This was not good. The soup prevented the crescents from cooking on the bottom making a big, hot, raw soupy dough MESS. If I dare try this again [BIG IF] I will take the advice of another user and cook the crescents with the chicken before adding any sauce on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
I loved this recipe but I wish there was a way to get the bottom of the crecent crispy like the top. I didn't try cooking them separate like previously suggested but in hindsight it would be better. I also saw a comment about it being bland (which chicken with cream of chicken soup seemed redundant) so I used cream of mushroom instead. It was fantastic! I bet you could sub in any cream of -- soup with a chicken friendly flavor and get great taste! my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
As written, I give this a 2. This turned out to be a sticky, gooey mess. The dough was not baked after the first 15 minutes. I baked it 8 minutes longer before it "looked" alright. I then added the rest of sauce and cheese and baked for another 2-3 minutes. The dough was uncooked on the inside even after the additional baking time. The flavor was good, so I will try it again, however, I will follow other reviews and bake the cresents alone and add the sauce only when I can be sure they are done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I love this! I've always creamed 1/2 cup cream cheese in place of one can of soup then mix it with the soup, milk, and cheese. I also bake the crescents first, just until golden brown, then put it back in the oven so all the cheese melts. i never can make enough to go around. There is no such thing as leftovers with this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Yum! Simple and easy! Add some diced Jalapenos for some zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apainter0703

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
Very easy to put together. It is time consuming but worth the time. My teenage picky eatting daughters really liked it. Which says a lot in my book! Thank you for sharing this recipe with all of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This was so quick and easy. Just boil the chicken for a little bit and follow directions!!! The only thing I did different was instead of 2 cans of cream of chicken, I did one cream of chicken, one cream of mushroom, and used fat free milk. Delicious and loved by all guest I was suprised to find out that they were coming over!! All things I had on hand. great with peas :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I made the following changes: Cut the amount in half (but kept the original amount of cheese). I used 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast, shredded. I cooked this with 1/2 the cheese and added 4 ounces of cream cheese. I wrapped this in the crescents and baked (no sauce). I mixed up the soup, milk, the rest of the cheese, and 4 more ounces of cream cheese, and cooked in a sauce pan until smooth. so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Fair -- not bad but not wonderful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
As written, I would give this a 3. First time I made it, it was a disaster. The crescent rolls weren't done and the sauce was starting to burn the sides of the dish. With modifications, I give it a 5, hands down. Here's what I do for 2 people: dice up 3-4 potatoes and make mashed potatoes slice a boneless, skinless chicken breast and cook (about 1" square pieces) until done add chicken and cheese to each crescent roll (usually 3 pieces of chicken per roll and cover with shredded colby/monterey jack cheese) Bake rolls at 350 for 11-13 mins Add 1-1/4 cup milk, 1/2 cup cheese (same kind as above), 1 can of cream of chicken soup and any remaining chicken (to be used as sauce) and heat until warm (add cheese after soup/milk mix is warm and whisk until melted) Keep whisking as the cheese will stick to the bottom of the pan Serve! I place crescent rolls and cover with mashed potatoes (or place potatoes in middle and surround with rolls) and cover with the soupy mixture. I make this about once a week as it is my hubby's favorite recipe. When I tell him that's what we're having for dinner, he ALWAYS leaves work early. :) Thank you so much for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Chef John's Broiled Chicken

See how to make juicy chicken with beautifully crispy skin in the oven.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States