Chicken and Brown Rice Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
very yummy and hearty! I used dried black beans since that is what I had, but otherwise stayed with the recipe exactly. It's super easy but has a very sophisticated flavor and texture. The longer you cook it the better, but I had to add broth often since I used the dried beans they kept soaking up all of the broth! My husband loved it and asked me to PLEASE not lose the recipe! High fiber, low cal and what could be better? Thanks grayartist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Just had my first bowl! Awesome!! The best part of this recipe is I had all the ingredients on hand! Perfect for a wintery Sunday soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
My daughter and I made this for the first time last night. We loved making it together as it was so simple and fun. It was definitely a hit and we will make it again. All of the flavors married so well together. Our kitchen really smelled good, too. krismariev
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Very good, easy soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
So easy, healthy, and tasty!! Making this again soon! Added more broth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
-+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allen Tillis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
This is the best soup. I add an add'l 3 cups of broth and kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Scardina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent! Broth was flavorful and balanced. Good balance of veggies, rice and chicken. As other have mentioned, the liquid volume seemed low once done. I added extra chicken broth and water during the course of the cook time to compensate which worked out fine. This is a total repeat! Will probably double the broth amounts and keep the solids the same for the next go 'round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bethachio
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
We couldn't get enough of the soup. The only change I made was adding about 2 cups of broth, but this may not be necessary if you cover the pot so the liquid doesn't steam away. I would say this recipe serves 2-4 adults, if eating it as a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Loved this. It's the kind of recipe that allows you to play with amounts as long as you have the basics. I added 6-7 cups of broth and increased the beans to a can and also used a bag of frozen brown rice that I microwaved which then allowed me to eat the soup sooner. I went heavier on the sage and added 2 bay leaves. I wanted to take a picture to post but was too hungry. So good on a winter's night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Grandma’s Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make a savory, 5-star chicken noodle soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States