Chicken and Broccoli Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2002
I agree that this recipe needed something. I prepared it by browning the chicken, then added the onions and lots of garlic, cooked it until the onions were soft, then added the brocolli and 1/2 cup of chicken broth. (The chicken broth helps take away the natural bitterness of the brocolli). I then added a 24 oz. can of crushed tomatoes, basil, oregano, parmesan cheese, and a cup of dry red wine. I then let it simmer for 30 minutes and tossed with rigatoni. Turned out very well and I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2001
I used chicken broth to cook the chicken, onion and garlic in and skipped the cheese so it was very low-fat. I also added more onion and garlic and a heaping teaspoon of both oregano flakes and basil flakes. My husband and I both thought it was terrific!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
Very good! I added extra garlic (5 cloves), one large onion, a tsp+ of oregano, and some canned mild green chilies (drained). I also added a fresh yellow pepper from the garden which added a nice flavor. I didn't have fresh broccoli, but the frozen worked great. This recipe is not for people who like thick tomato sauces, but the end result is a very flavorful, fresh-tasting dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
light meal. I added mushrooms and i broiled fresh tomatoes instead of canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Pretty good! I took the advice of others and added more chicken, more garlic and more onion. I also let it simmer for 20 minutes or so. One thing I did wrong...I added the broccoli too early and it lost it's pretty color. Next time (and there WILL be a next time) I'll wait until I'm almost ready to serve in order to not overcook the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
This is the first dish that i made with my boyfriend. We loved it the first time and then on the second time we made it we decided to add seasoned diced tomatoes from DelMonte. We used a full can of green chiles and only half a can of Basil, Oregano, and Garlic it gave the dish that extra kick that it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bonaire, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
My Boyfriend and I enjoyed this! Instead of regular penne pasta, I used whole wheat penne. In addition, I used scallions instead of regular onions and I added a chicken boullion and minced garlic........ This dish was very tasty and definitely NOT bland. To begin, I cut the peices into 1 inch peices as the directions stated, BUT I seasoned the peices of chicken with a little goya adobo, a little garlic salt and paprika. In addition, the chicken boulion that I added gave the sauce a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Pretty good and simple to make. I liked the broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
This recipe was bad! I double the recipe and followed the recipe exactly and is was way to bland fo my liking. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This was really good, but was a little time consuming to cook the chicken and then cut it up into chunks. I think to save time I will buy chicken cutlets next time, or try to find chicken breast that is already cooked. The flavor was really good, and it's pretty low fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Smiley OReilly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Sikeston, Missouri, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pesto Pasta with Chicken

A simple chicken pasta with pesto and sun-dried tomatoes.

Sweet, Spicy Stir Fry with Chicken & Broccoli

A simple chicken-and-veggie stir-fry with sweet and spicy flavors.

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States