Chicken and Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
This is always a favorite with my husband. I have made this many times, using a variety of vegetables each time. I use more cheese than is called for, and slightly less mayo (just enough to keep the mixture moist). I also use less dill, and sprinkle basil over the top before baking. I would suggest steaming the broccoli to "crisp tender", and lightly frying the onion and garlic. Otherwise, the vegetables do not cook through during baking, and the onion especially can be a bit strong. All in all, this is a fantastic recipe that lends itself to variety, and is easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2005
This recipe was awesome! I made a boo-boo tho and didn't form the braid on the pan so I kinda screwed it up as I had to transfer it to the pan and it got a bit messed up in the process. I substitued some of the ingredients to what I had on hand. I used green pepper instead of red, Italian seasoning instead of dill weed and mozzarella cheese instead of cheddar. Everything else I kept the same including the almonds (which I couldnt seem taste by the way). I thought it was great & so did my hubby. I will be making this again! I knew how to make the braid from a previous recipe long ago so I thought I would draw a diagram (forgive my paintshop skills!) for those of you having problems. It can be found at: http://img200.echo.cx/my.php?image=instructions4wv.jpg][IMG]http://img200.echo.cx/img200/5598/instructions4wv.th.jpg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WAFFELZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2003
The first time I made this the center dough was not cooked completely. Second time I made it I really streched it out and it turned out perfect. Just the right amount of ingredients for every bite! It looks so fancy when the top is golden brown, your guests will be impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
149 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is a favorite in our house - my boyfriend never can seem to get enough. Instead of dried dill, I use 2TBSP of FRESH dill - this makes a big difference, I believe. I also like to use PIZZA DOUGH instead of the rolls - those just never seemed appealing to me. I cook the chicken in a pan on the stove with a little extra virgin olive oil, the broccoli, the garlic, and the onion. I always add celery and carrot to this dish, and sometimes some green onion. I also sprinkle sesame seeds on top before baking it. This is an easy recipe that always yields excellent results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
I have been making this for years and so glad I found the recipe on here too!! A few changes that I do: steam broccoli before, I like to season and boil my chicken to cook it although we have grilled it before and it comes out just as yummy, use 1 red bell pepper and 1 green bell pepper, omit the onion, and we usually use the whole package of sliced/slivered almonds (they give the dish the best crunch)!! Definitely my favorite recipe of all times! Update: My husband and I make this at least once a month! We ALWAYS have trouble cooking this (the top/middle of the crescent rolls never get done as quickly as the sides do)...so we use some foil to cover the sides so that everything cooks evenly...it usually takes close to an hour (covered and uncovered to cook completely. We have tried cooking on a baking stone and also a cookie sheet...either works just fine. We use 1/2 teaspoon of dill and sharp cheddar cheese. Love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JANBRINKS
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I followed it exactly, except for the dill and the dough directons. I reduced the amount to 1/2 tsp. I like dill, but not love it! And for the braid, I cut the strips AFTER I placed the chicen on the dough, not before, as directed in the recipe. See my photo with the recipe too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANBRINKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2003
I made mine into a wreath using 1 package of Grands crescent rolls. I felt the recipe called for Way too much dill. I used only 1/2 teaspoon and was just right. Next time I will slightly cook the broccoli first. I don't like it so crunchy. This makes a beautiful looking dish to impress guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2003
This was an excellent recipe. When making for a party, I make the filling a day ahead then just put it together and bake. I have made this many times and haven't had a problem with doughiness. Check your oven if you have a problem-it's probably too hot. P.S. I'm sick of reviewers pushing their overpriced Pampered Chef products.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
Yum! Make a couple changes: omitted the bell pepper (didn't have any) and cut the dill a little bit. Also, cooked the chicken with the onions and garlic with some poultry seasoning, then added the broccoli (as another reviewer suggested) to let it cook a bit. Didn't do the braid, but laid one can of rolls flat on baking sheet, added the chicken mixture on top, then topped with the other can of rolls (butter-flavored), cutting openings to let steam escape and pinching the two sheets of dough together. Baked for 25 minutes. Good, good meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
They now sell solid sheets of crescent dough, so you don’t have to press the individual rolls together, makes it a lot easier to use. This is a Pampered Chef recipe and calls for 1 teaspoon of dill weed, not 2. Personally I don't use dill, don't care for the flavor. I also use parmesan cheese, not cheddar. I often use a Calzone filling, of onion, bell pepper and crumbled Italian sausage (cooked & well drained) mixed with pizza sauce and topped with shredded mozzarella cheese. Cubed ham, broccoli and Swiss cheese is also good. You can substitute just about any combination of cooked meat, vegetables and cheese, mixed with about a 1/2 cup mayonnaise, sour cream, or any type of sauce to moisten; even 1/2 cup of creamed soup (undiluted)) will work. Serve with a salad, makes a nice dinner, or cut into bite sized pieces as an appetizer. And don’t forget dessert, spread dough with sweetened cream cheese, top with a fruit filling, and drizzle baked and cooled braid with a simple powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 668) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States