Chicken and Broccoli Braid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This is probably THE BEST recipe I've found on AR. I did change it based on personal preferences and what I had on hand. (That's another reason this recipe is PERFECT - so many delicious combos can be made from this!!) I made the following changes: I used a whole onion, a whole bell pepper and some sliced baby bella mushrooms in addition to the broccoli and chicken. I sauteed the vegetables along with the chicken. I used Montreal chicken seasoning and a Pizza/Pasta seasoning combo in the chicken and veggies while sauteeing. I used Ranch dressing in place of the mayo. I only used enough to make the filling stick together. I used Colby Jack cheese. I skipped the egg wash on the top. Instead, I brushed it with butter, sprinkled it with cracked black pepper and a liberal dusting of grated parmesan cheese and parsley. Some reviewers complained of a soggy bottom with the recipe as stated so I baked it for 28 minutes, then covered it with tin foil and baked an additional 8 minutes. I removed it from the oven and allowed it to cool for 10 minutes before slicing. My husband and son LOVED it. This will DEFINITELY be put into the regular meal rotation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this for my family and they absolutely loved it! I made a few minor adjustments like taking out the dill and almonds and i added for chopped carrots but they loved and wanted me to make it again the next night..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JalisaJackson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
This was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
Husband loved ... son & I tolerated, but that's about it. I love the concept, but the filling ... well, all I could think of was chopped up baby food. Will try again, but with different fillings. Thanks for recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
This was pretty good - it needed a bit more kick. Will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Didn't have any dill, so left that out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I had lost my favorite Pampered chef cook book in our last move when the boys requested this today. I was so excited to find it on allrecipes. It's my "go to" recipe when I have company or want to use up some precooked chicken. The easy braiding of the crescent rolls always impresses people (and I'm not an impressive cook!) Those who say it burns too easy, perhaps, have rolled the crescent dough too thin, or cut the strips too thin. Keeping the braid the same width from middle to ends is also important. Chopping the broccoli and peppers small also helps for even cooking time. No one has ever complained that the broccoli was crispy, and the youngest doesn't even know it has it! Please don't tell him :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
This was perfect for my family of 2. We halved the recipe quite easily. Tasty, easy to prep - couldn't ask for better. We will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
i used half the mayo and 1 1/2 cups cheese. I also doubled the garlic. I made the braid on parchment paper for easy transferring and even easier clean up. I made two smaller braids for faster cooking. To do this from each package of crescent rolls I lined the four rectangles up long edges touching. To cook I waited until the crust was a nice golder brown, then covered with foil to prevent further browning. I Then returned the braid to the over and continued cooking until the center reached 140 degrees F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
I made a number of changes: 1) Didn't use a pepper, garlic, almonds, dill weed, or mayo. 2) I added ranch dressing instead of mayo. 3) Used colby-cheddar cheese instead of cheddar. 4) Steamed the broccoli. It was like a casserole in a crescent roll wrap. Yum! My family loved it. We ate every last bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 673) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli Chicken Divan

This chicken broccoli casserole couldn’t be easier. And did we mention tasty?

Broccoli Chicken Casserole I

See how to make a creamy baked chicken and broccoli casserole.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States