Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2008
Delicious! Husband raved about it too. It has a nice kick, but not too much. Only gave 4 stars since I felt 5 cups of water would have made this soup rather than chili. I listened to the other reviewers and cut back on the water by 2 cups. Also, didn't find or use the chipotle but felt it was delicious without it. Will DEFINITELY make again and have shared this recipe with other family members.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Good recipe! Thanks for sharing. I didn't have green pepper so just did a whole onion. I used Penzey's Adobo spices instead of the cumin/pepper etc. We topped with grated cheese and lite sour cream. Very easy and my husband went back for a big bowl of seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is a great chicken chili! It is very tasty and hearty. My boyfriend said it was the best. I didn’t use the chipotle pepper, corn, or green pepper sauce, because I did not have. I substituted a can of diced tomatoes for the paste. I followed previous reviews and only used 3 cups of water and added chicken bouillon with the water. I also added a chopped jalapeno. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Fabulous. I only had green pepper, onion and garlic. Did not use chipotle only cayenne and chili powder. I did add an additional can of stewed tomatoes and more beans as I like pretty hearty. It was really yummy!Use plenty of fresh cilantro.Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
The flavor of this dish was amazing. I withheld the five star rating (although its a 4.99999) because the consistency wasn't what I was hoping for in a chili. I will definitely make this again and adjust the water content to find the thickness that I prefer. Very Good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drhenderson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This recipe is, hands down, the best chili I have *ever* tasted. I pared down the water to a total of 3 cups instead of 5, and couldn't find a chili pepper, so just upped the powder. I intended to submit a photo but we ate the entire batch so quickly that it'll have to wait until the next time we make it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
This recipe was very, very tasty and my husband said it was a definite repeat. One suggestion, though: right after you brown the chunks of chicken, remove them with a slotted spoon into a medium/large bowl and shred them. Then return them to the pot and continue as normal. I strongly endorse this for a hearty mid-winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This truly was a yummy chili, I just think, as others have noted before me, that the recipe needs to be changed because 5 cups is just too much water for a chili consistency. I simmered for an hour and still couldn't get it to look like chili! It still makes a delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2007
very good, made this on a couple occasions. i omitted the corn and replaced it with a can of diced tomatoes, and i would also suggest omitting a cup or two of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
I didn't use the corn but cut up a can of stewed tomatoes - it really enhanced the flavor. Also used 2 cans of black beans and no red - we love blackbeans! I used the maximum on all the spices and used others suggestions to use only 1 cup of water on the 2nd addition. Very good chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States