Chicken and Black Bean Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
This chilli turned out awesome! We enjoyed it with saltines and fat free cheddar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Baxtron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was just ok. I had high expectations, as all the ingredients are things I really like, but this recipe just didn't live up to my expectations. It didn't really taste like chili. It wasn't bad, but I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2008
This was very good. My husband liked it (for chili he says) and my kids even thought it tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverton, Utah, USA
Living In: Philomath, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
My family liked this, and it was a nice change from beef chili. I did make some changes as others did. I personally boiled the chicken earlier to save time and used the broth from the chicken instead of water in the receipe. I also cut back on the amount of water used, it made it thicker and seem more like chili and not a soup. I just added my spices in when adding the chicken. We also like things alittle spicer and added what we need to spice it up. Overall very quick and everyone ate it. I did not have the garlic roasted tomato paste, just used regular tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry Knoebel Roberts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Merritt Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
I've made this recipe 3 or 4 times now and it's just perfect. Can't find the dried chipotles around here so I usually add some crushed red pepper flakes. Very good though. Great chili flavor and the fact that there's very little that's bad for you in here means you can feel good about yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bevier, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
This was delicious! Like many who’ve reviewed this recipe, I cut back the water to 3 cups rather than 5, but used chicken broth in place of the water. Added just a little more to the flavor. I could not find dried chipotle peppers, so I used the canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. Those can be found in the ethnic foods area of most grocery stores. The last thing that I did that was not on the original recipe is add a 15 oz can of tomato sauce at the end were you’d add the remaining water if you were to use it. I’ve been telling friends and family about this recipe, including one friend who has wheat allergies. Totally making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
Awesome recipe. Everyone loved it! I didn't use chipotle and doubled the chili powder. I also cut the water down to 3 cups and used an extra can of beans and skipped the corn. This one's definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
This made a great black bean soup...it was not thick enough, in my opinion, to be called Chili. But, it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by houston13girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This was so GOOD! The flavor was perfect and the black beans went well with the chicken. It was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tomball, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
Spice island has ground chipotle chili so I used that instead of grinding my own. Other than that I followed the recipe as written and my family all wanted seconds. Only the kids had the sour cream to cut the spice. this is absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Chicken Chili with Black Beans and Corn

The kick of herbs and spices gives this chili amazing flavor, with less fat.

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States