Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Excellent! Even my picky eater at this! I added cilantro and garlic to the onions and baked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes (I live at high altitude) The rice cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very tasty dish. This will be a regular on our dinner calendar. The only thing I did differently was to use two cans of Rotel and one can of plain diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes & green chilis seperately. Very easy, no fuss kind of meal. Would also be yummy with Monterey Jack or Cheddar cheese baked on top for last several minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was awesome!! Family loved it. Increased the servings on meal trying to have it last 2 nights, bummer didn't work. Family ate all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If I wanted to use canned black beans, would I use a 14 - 15 ounce can for this in place of the 8 oz of dried and then cooked black beans? This sounds great and I would LOVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I made this in a crock pot. YUMMY!! I used frozen chicken breasts and had them sitting on top of the ingredients for hte first 4 hours. Then I cut up the chicken and cooked for another 2. That was plenty of time and the rice cooked great! Next time I will add a little garlic. Really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Added Chedder Jack and authentic Mexican Cheese Blend from Sargento Cheese company on the top of the casserole before I put it in the oven. Also added more beans and half a chicken more to the 4 serving recipe to suit the people I was serving. Adding tortilla chips on the side was a great idea. I made a cheese, bean, and salsa layered dip with chips and sour cream as an appetizer instead of serving it with the casserole since the casserole is already full of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was a hit at our house. My husband, who is very picky, loved it. I used the frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts, defrosted, and cubed them up before browning in the pan with the onion. The next day I served it cold on a baby spinach salad with ranch dressing....delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very tasty and filling. I used crushed tomatoes and added some garlic and some frozen corn and some extra rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
Awesome flavors! Easy, delicious meal. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent. I liked the idea of serving it with salsa so I added 1 cup of salsa instead of the stewed tomatoes. There were no leftovers. Yummy! I served it with brown rice (which I made in the rice cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States