Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and made this for a family gathering. I used long grain white rice and it did not cook at all in the 45 minute time stated in the recipe. Luckily I had a lot of side dishes prepared because no one could eat the main course. Maybe I should have used instant/minute rice - the recipe does not specify. Or maybe the time should have been scaled since the dish was scaled. In any event I tried cooking some of the leftovers in the crock pot the next day and at the 5-hour mark - on High the rice still was not cooked enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My rice cooked fine in the 45 min. prescribed by the recipe. I did make sure the casserole was well covered while cooking because I thought the previous reviewer's problem might have been that all of the moisture cooked off. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and added just a little bit of water. I also added cheese on top because I left out the chilis and cilantro because of my restricted diet. I thought it would be too bland otherwise. Overall, a satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe, though I changed a few things to suit my family. I used crushed tomatoes, 3 different kinds of beans, more spices and skipped the rice altogether. A note about wild rice - it takes ALOT longer to cook than regular white or brown rice, and retains its chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
My boyfriend loved this one---very easy to make, keeps well and can be altered easily based on ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Excellent! Even my picky eater at this! I added cilantro and garlic to the onions and baked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes (I live at high altitude) The rice cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If I wanted to use canned black beans, would I use a 14 - 15 ounce can for this in place of the 8 oz of dried and then cooked black beans? This sounds great and I would LOVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe sounds yummy, but it's not clear to me if I am supposed to use COOKED chicken or raw chicken, since you say you prepare it the day after your have roasted chicken???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This would be great for a party. We ate it on corn tortillas with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent. I liked the idea of serving it with salsa so I added 1 cup of salsa instead of the stewed tomatoes. There were no leftovers. Yummy! I served it with brown rice (which I made in the rice cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Simple to make and delicious! I substituted the packaged beans with 1 can of black beans to make life easier. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States