Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Simple to make and delicious! I substituted the packaged beans with 1 can of black beans to make life easier. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
Excellent. I liked the idea of serving it with salsa so I added 1 cup of salsa instead of the stewed tomatoes. There were no leftovers. Yummy! I served it with brown rice (which I made in the rice cooker)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This would be great for a party. We ate it on corn tortillas with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
This recipe sounds yummy, but it's not clear to me if I am supposed to use COOKED chicken or raw chicken, since you say you prepare it the day after your have roasted chicken???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
If I wanted to use canned black beans, would I use a 14 - 15 ounce can for this in place of the 8 oz of dried and then cooked black beans? This sounds great and I would LOVE to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Connersville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Excellent! Even my picky eater at this! I added cilantro and garlic to the onions and baked at 375 degrees for 45 minutes (I live at high altitude) The rice cooked perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
My boyfriend loved this one---very easy to make, keeps well and can be altered easily based on ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
We really enjoyed this recipe, though I changed a few things to suit my family. I used crushed tomatoes, 3 different kinds of beans, more spices and skipped the rice altogether. A note about wild rice - it takes ALOT longer to cook than regular white or brown rice, and retains its chewy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
My rice cooked fine in the 45 min. prescribed by the recipe. I did make sure the casserole was well covered while cooking because I thought the previous reviewer's problem might have been that all of the moisture cooked off. I used crushed tomatoes instead of stewed and added just a little bit of water. I also added cheese on top because I left out the chilis and cilantro because of my restricted diet. I thought it would be too bland otherwise. Overall, a satisfying dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I scaled the recipe to 10 servings and made this for a family gathering. I used long grain white rice and it did not cook at all in the 45 minute time stated in the recipe. Luckily I had a lot of side dishes prepared because no one could eat the main course. Maybe I should have used instant/minute rice - the recipe does not specify. Or maybe the time should have been scaled since the dish was scaled. In any event I tried cooking some of the leftovers in the crock pot the next day and at the 5-hour mark - on High the rice still was not cooked enough to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States