Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This recipe was awesome!! Family loved it. Increased the servings on meal trying to have it last 2 nights, bummer didn't work. Family ate all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Very tasty and filling. I used crushed tomatoes and added some garlic and some frozen corn and some extra rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I made this in a crock pot. YUMMY!! I used frozen chicken breasts and had them sitting on top of the ingredients for hte first 4 hours. Then I cut up the chicken and cooked for another 2. That was plenty of time and the rice cooked great! Next time I will add a little garlic. Really great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
This was a hit at our house. My husband, who is very picky, loved it. I used the frozen boneless skinless chicken breasts, defrosted, and cubed them up before browning in the pan with the onion. The next day I served it cold on a baby spinach salad with ranch dressing....delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This is pretty good. I followed the recipe, but I used canned black beans. I used raw chicken browned on the stove with the onions. I had to cook the casserole an extra 20 minutes to get the rice done (white basmati). I kept checking on it and adding water (probably about 1 cup) for the rice. I sprinkled a Mexican blend of cheese on the top before cooking for the last 5 minutes which definitely added to the flavor and texture. It's not a fancy dish, but perfectly fine for getting through the week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karen
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I used canned black beans and the rice came out perfect. I think I will try rotel next time for the tomatoes. Good and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I added garbanzo beans since it was basically baked chicken chili. I did the can versions of diced tomatoes and black beans. It tasted good. I mistakenly added extra rice after reading reviews that it was too liquidy / soupy. Don't add extra rice unless you are adding extra water too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sheridan, Indiana, USA
Living In: Managua, Managua, Nicaragua

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
As an aspiring chef, I must admit I was a little disappointed with the excess liquid in the dish after baking. I was starving! But, even as a "thick chili", as I have come to call it, it was delicious! I added green peppers and sour cream. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
Very tasty dish. This will be a regular on our dinner calendar. The only thing I did differently was to use two cans of Rotel and one can of plain diced tomatoes in place of the tomatoes & green chilis seperately. Very easy, no fuss kind of meal. Would also be yummy with Monterey Jack or Cheddar cheese baked on top for last several minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
Simple to make and delicious! I substituted the packaged beans with 1 can of black beans to make life easier. All in all, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States