Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very good and I made a few changes, just because it was what I had on hand and I didn't have any chicken thawed out. I used 1 large can plus 1 small can of chicken (Hormel brand), used a can of Ro-tel instead of the stewed tomatoes & chile peppers and I used 1 can of drained/rinsed black beans. I stirred it a few times while it was baking and we topped it with sour cream. It probably would have been good with some shredded cheese on top, too. Very good & I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
super simple - quite tasty! i use brown rice and couldn't find any tips in the other reviews, so i left the rice out of the oven and made it separately on the stove. then i just layered the casserole over a bed of rice - it was quite tasty! i also tried the rotel instead of chili's and it was great - still needed a little something, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe that's easily made with leftovers from other recipes! I had some diced cooked chicken and half a can of black beans and some cooked rice in the fridge and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles I wanted to use up. I didn't cook this the way the recipe stated since everything was already cooked. I just put in a microwave save dish and took to work with me and microwaved until heated through! Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
It was okay. We used it as burrito filling with sour cream and avocado. My husband liked it that way, but it wasn't anything fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good! I too used canned beans and rotel tomatoes with chilis. I covered my dish with foil during 45 minutes of baking and uncovered it, topped it with a mexican cheese blend, and baked it for 5 minutes longer. Wonderful, easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne34z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This Recipe is the greatest!!!!! I made it for my husband and I one night and after eating it my husband told me to put it on our list of regular dinners. I did do a few things differently. I left out the chile peppers and cumin but I added paprika. Very Yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The mix of ingredients sounds like they would be great together, but the rice in my dish NEVER cooked. Perhaps next time I will cook the rice before and warm the ingredients in the oven. Maybe I was supposed to use instant rice? If this is the case, the recipe should specify instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Didn't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used the ingredients as directed and baked it for the alotted 45 minutes. The rice did not get done. It was still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I had leftover grilled chicken and brown rice, so this made the work much easier. I added a little red pepper and used rotel tomatoes. Very good . Happy Cinco de Mayo ( a day early)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States