Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yum! I used diced tomatoes instead of stewed and canned black beans instead of dry. I also added 1/2 frozen corn, salt and minced garlic! I had to cook this for an hour so the rice would soften, prob my fault since I cooked it without a lid the first 20 minutes. *****UPDATE*****When I made this again I just cooked it all on the stove for 35-40 minutes, until the rice was cooked. I had to stir ocassionally so the rice would not stick to the bottom of the pan. No heating up the oven and only ONE pan to clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
We all love this dish. I made a few adjustments for our taste. Everyone was surprised at how much they enjoyed this dish tonight and many more dinners in the future. Some of us scooped it up with Tortilla chips. I personally loved it with a dollop of sour cream.Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy McFadden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very good and I made a few changes, just because it was what I had on hand and I didn't have any chicken thawed out. I used 1 large can plus 1 small can of chicken (Hormel brand), used a can of Ro-tel instead of the stewed tomatoes & chile peppers and I used 1 can of drained/rinsed black beans. I stirred it a few times while it was baking and we topped it with sour cream. It probably would have been good with some shredded cheese on top, too. Very good & I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
super simple - quite tasty! i use brown rice and couldn't find any tips in the other reviews, so i left the rice out of the oven and made it separately on the stove. then i just layered the casserole over a bed of rice - it was quite tasty! i also tried the rotel instead of chili's and it was great - still needed a little something, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe that's easily made with leftovers from other recipes! I had some diced cooked chicken and half a can of black beans and some cooked rice in the fridge and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles I wanted to use up. I didn't cook this the way the recipe stated since everything was already cooked. I just put in a microwave save dish and took to work with me and microwaved until heated through! Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
It was okay. We used it as burrito filling with sour cream and avocado. My husband liked it that way, but it wasn't anything fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good! I too used canned beans and rotel tomatoes with chilis. I covered my dish with foil during 45 minutes of baking and uncovered it, topped it with a mexican cheese blend, and baked it for 5 minutes longer. Wonderful, easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne34z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This Recipe is the greatest!!!!! I made it for my husband and I one night and after eating it my husband told me to put it on our list of regular dinners. I did do a few things differently. I left out the chile peppers and cumin but I added paprika. Very Yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The mix of ingredients sounds like they would be great together, but the rice in my dish NEVER cooked. Perhaps next time I will cook the rice before and warm the ingredients in the oven. Maybe I was supposed to use instant rice? If this is the case, the recipe should specify instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Didn't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Pantry Raid Chicken Enchilada Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, cheesy Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States