Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This was very good and I made a few changes, just because it was what I had on hand and I didn't have any chicken thawed out. I used 1 large can plus 1 small can of chicken (Hormel brand), used a can of Ro-tel instead of the stewed tomatoes & chile peppers and I used 1 can of drained/rinsed black beans. I stirred it a few times while it was baking and we topped it with sour cream. It probably would have been good with some shredded cheese on top, too. Very good & I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
super simple - quite tasty! i use brown rice and couldn't find any tips in the other reviews, so i left the rice out of the oven and made it separately on the stove. then i just layered the casserole over a bed of rice - it was quite tasty! i also tried the rotel instead of chili's and it was great - still needed a little something, not sure what yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This is a great recipe that's easily made with leftovers from other recipes! I had some diced cooked chicken and half a can of black beans and some cooked rice in the fridge and a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles I wanted to use up. I didn't cook this the way the recipe stated since everything was already cooked. I just put in a microwave save dish and took to work with me and microwaved until heated through! Great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
It was okay. We used it as burrito filling with sour cream and avocado. My husband liked it that way, but it wasn't anything fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Very good! I too used canned beans and rotel tomatoes with chilis. I covered my dish with foil during 45 minutes of baking and uncovered it, topped it with a mexican cheese blend, and baked it for 5 minutes longer. Wonderful, easy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne34z

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This Recipe is the greatest!!!!! I made it for my husband and I one night and after eating it my husband told me to put it on our list of regular dinners. I did do a few things differently. I left out the chile peppers and cumin but I added paprika. Very Yummy!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
The mix of ingredients sounds like they would be great together, but the rice in my dish NEVER cooked. Perhaps next time I will cook the rice before and warm the ingredients in the oven. Maybe I was supposed to use instant rice? If this is the case, the recipe should specify instant rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Didn't like the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
I used the ingredients as directed and baked it for the alotted 45 minutes. The rice did not get done. It was still hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I had leftover grilled chicken and brown rice, so this made the work much easier. I added a little red pepper and used rotel tomatoes. Very good . Happy Cinco de Mayo ( a day early)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States