Chicken and Black Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
Loved this dish!! Im a houseparent with nine kids ages 4,5 and 6 so i was nervous about making this dish but they all loved it and most of them wanted seconds including me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Pretty good. I could add a little more spice to it. I made the mistake of adding 1/2 cup of water as someone had mentioned doing. It is not needed...came out a little watery, maybe thats why I feel it could use more spice. I'll defiantly make again. Easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Excellent. I used leftover cooked chicken breasts, mild RoTel in place of chilies, and leftover rice. I put the rice in the bottom of the dish, and the rest mixed on top. Baked for about 30 minutes, then topped with grated cheddar and baked until melted. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oregon Snowbird

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
I made this today. Great starter recipe! Next time I think I will add garlic and salsa to the sauce. I cooked in a casserole dish and covered with aluminum foil. Came out perfectly. Thanks for posting a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Yummy! I adapted this recipe with what I had in my kitchen and changed serving sizes cos was just my husband and me. Along with cut up raw chicken, I added half bag frozen veggies, can of black beans, 1/2 cup uncooked rice and a little water, cup of fresh kale, and some spices. I didn't have any corn. Put everything into covered casserole dish and cooked at 350 degrees for 70 mins. I'm a beginner cook and this was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
i made a few changes. i sauted onions ,cilantro garlic, chicken, and a jalopeno pepper , and added some lime juice to it . i also cooked rice first . once chicken was cooked i added all the sauted stufff with the rice and put in half can diced tom and whole can black beans than added little more lime juice on top. baked for 30 mins and than sprinkled some cheese on top and baked another 5 mins. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This is a good dish, but I just found the cumin was way too overwhelming. If I make it again, I would probably use just a couple tsp, instead of a full tbsp. All I could taste was the cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
While this casserole was tasty with the added garlic and corn suggested by others, it took at least 90 minutes to cook (and I had even added a little beef broth for extra moisture and covered the casserole dish). I suspect the recipe was meant for instant rice. Next time I will definitely cook the rice separately and then add it to the casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEMGIRL1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
I did not put in quite as much chicken as the recipe says. I also added garbanzo beans for more fiber and protein, but less fat and cholesterol. I substituted a green pepper for the chile peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
BLAND!!! I followed recipe exactly. Afew reviews said rice wasn't done. I cooked mine, covered (per another reviewer to ensure rice cooked) for 55-60 min, rice STILLas not done. Horribly bland, wouldn't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Salsa Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a top-rated, Mexican-inspired casserole.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States