Chicken and Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I found this recipe doing an ingredients search for chicken, basil, and carrots so right off the bat I was going to modify it to whatever I had on hand. I had a lot of fresh green beans and I substituted those for the canned/frozen peas. I also like things a tad spicy so I made a dry rub for my chicken, which was cooked in a NuWave. The dry rub was 1/2 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp pepper, 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper, and 1/2 tsp sesame seeds. I sprinkled the dry rub on each side of the chicken tenders prior to cooking. In my veggie mix I had sweet onion, carrots, celery, and green beans, all chopped to bite size. I sauteed them in butter for a bit, then added chicken broth to cover them and a bouillon chicken cube to add flavor based on previous reviewer comments. I then added a little less than 1/3 cup of flour - my goal was to have the sauce thicken but still be a bit soupy. The major sub I made was corn bread for the biscuits, which came out absolutely amazing since corn bread was a little sweet and mixed very well with the spicy chicken profile. For that I used a package of corn bread muffin mix with egg and milk and then spread the mixture over my casserole dish containing the veggies and cut up chicken mix. I baked that in the over for 30 minutes at 350 and the meal came out phenomenal. Corn bread did not get soggy at all for lunch the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
My kids' current favorite and less work than the chicken pot pie I used to make. I also add cubed blanched potatoes, sauteed mushrooms, bell pepper, and frozen peas and corn to the filling and use "Chef Jon's Buttermilk Biscuits" recipe instead of the buttermilk baking mix (scoop blobs of dough to dot the top of the casserole - no need to roll and flatten balls of dough)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Good recipe, but after reviewing others I make some changes. I used very big frozen biscuits and it added to much dough, but I think with regular size biscuit it would be a 4.5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
This was very good. I didn't have buttermilk biscuit mix, but instead I made my own biscuits. I might try adding some (partially cooked) cubed potatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Excellent comfort food recipe! Plenty of flavor! Easy to make; I just used frozen mixed vegetables, including frozen biscuits. The only suggestion I have is to make the biscuits separately & add to meal when done; if you don't want the biscuits to be soggy/mushy. But all- in- all my 9 yr old loves it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Yum!! Great comfort food. With my notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I made this as written except substituted boullion for broth and corn for the peas. It was good, my husband said he could eat it everyday. But my only thing is that I think baking it all together is pointless. I think the sauce could just be made on the stove, then biscuits in the oven and then sauce just poured over the biscuits. It would save the step of putting it all in a baking dish and baking it. I hate washing those big casserole dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
We love the specific flavoring of pepper and basil in this recipe. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle DeCaire

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fenton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Family loved it.. I followed the recipe as written! Thanks for sharing:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Gracemont, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
I altered the recipe based on what was in my pantry. I used 2 boneless chicken breasts and covered them with a lid when I cooked them to contain the moisture, which I then substituted for part of the chicken broth. I didn't have peas or onions so I doubled both the celery and the carrots and added onion powder when I mixed in the flour. I used half the butter and added it in slowly so it wouldn't cook away. I only used 1/4 cup of flour and 1 3/4 cup chicken broth. I added 1/4 cup white wine. I did not use any sugar. I halved the dough recipe, and because I hate how sticky it gets, I just dropped it on top like little drop biscuits. I added some crumbled Ritz crackers on top for a little extra crunchiness, although I am not sure that they made that much of a difference. I cooked it uncovered for 30 minutes at 350 in a slightly smaller casserole dish. I am not sure how my version compares with the original, but my husband and I really enjoyed it. I give the recipe five stars just because it was so flexible and turned out so well in spite of my alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 665) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken and Biscuit Casserole

Creamy chicken and vegetable filling topped with basil buttermilk biscuits.

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States