Chicken and Biscuit Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2015
No photo because it's gone! Doubled the recipe for casserole potluck tomorrow and the remaining amount I made up in a pie plate (with bottom crust) for our family dinner tonight. Very good flavor - the basil surprised me! I also added dried parsley because I had it, and canned corn. Also did half chicken broth/half stock because I was uncertain the flavors would be rich enough. This was the first time I made it, so I can't compare it to broth alone, but it was comforting, but not bland. I let the "sauce" thicken while simmering a few minutes longer because I didn't want it to be runny, but next time I will follow the recipe, because it thickened to a sticky cobbler state. It was good, but I wanted it to be gooey, with just a touch more moisture. Thank you for posting this recipe! It is now in my handwritten recipe box - where only my best recipes are archived!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
The recipe says to serve over biscuits... Is this the biscuits from the top or were we supposed to make extra biscuits separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
Really liked how easy and tasty this recipe is. I toned down the basil and used frozen peas but otherwise followed as written. My husband liked it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Dolon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was added some garlic salt (didn't have enought fresh garlic on hand) and I added a packet of chicken gravy to the mixture because some reviewers said it was a little bland. I am very happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I gave this recipe one star as the broth was a very soupy consistency and had a bland taste, although I followed directions as written. I will not be making this recipe again, but for those who are trying it for the first time I recommend omitting the sugar (we could taste it in the broth), adding more flour to thicken the broth and adding whatever seasoning you prefer for flavor. Otherwise, there is NO flavor and the consistency is the same as chicken broth. Blah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Very good. I put mixture in a smaller pan and topped with Kentucky Biscuits from recipe on this site (didn't have Bisquick on hand). I agree with another reviewer that there's too much pepper, will cut back next time. Also used frozen peas. Good comfort food, great way to use rotisserie chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
I used ‘Herb-Ox Sodium Free’ packets, for the broth and half the salt and pepper directed (I'm on a low-sodium diet). It still had plenty of flavor. I boiled 3 small chicken breasts and cubed them and used 2 bags of frozen mixed vegetables. I made 'drop biscuits' with Bisquick Heart Smart mix & almond milk because that's what I had on hand. I cooked as directed, then just left it all in the skillet, dropped the biscuits in and put it in the oven... one less dish to wash! I didn't bother with the foil at the end because the 'drop biscuits' didn't really need it. DELISH!!! I may try some mushrooms and sherry next time, but what a terrific comfort dish... I can't wait for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JChester

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hampton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is a very easy recipe. I didn't make eight separate biscuits as in the original directions. Instead I just spooned the biscuit dough on top of the chicken mixture to save time. It worked out perfectly! Also, I use leftover chicken from a purchased rotisserie. I have made it a few times now and my kids ask for it over and over! Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
This is so good!! My family loves it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Marie Belanger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Cut back on the peas. It changed the taste of everything. I thought this would taste a little different. Meh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 657) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Casserole

A comforting combination of chicken, veggies, and creamy sauce.

Delicious Chicken Casserole

Turn chicken, soup, and sour cream into a crowd-pleasing casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States